Earl of Sandwich’s The Original 1762

I’ve been slacking on the 2013 Eat Each Sandwich Challenge that Nora & Nick of Extra WDW Magic thought up (#2013eateachsandwich). So far, I’ve only tried the Limited Time Chicken Pesto Pomodoro Sandwich this year! Needless to say, I need to pick up the pace, especially with the addition of two previously seasonal sandwiches to the permanent menu. Speaking of menus, Earl of Sandwich got some snazzy new menu boards!

earl-of-sandwich-menu-boards-1-3-24-13

earl-of-sandwich-menu-boards-2-3-24-13.JPG

earl-of-sandwich-the-original-1792-wrapped

On to today’s sandwich! To jump start my challenge, I decided to kick it off with The Original 1762, a basic yet solid combination of roasted beef, sharp cheddar & horseradish. In our house, I’m not the one to order roast beef sandwiches; that’s totally Matt’s thing. I always go for Italians. However, I was looking forward to this sandwich in its simplicity.

earl-of-sandwich-the-original-1792-cross

There was a fair amount of roast beef on the sandwich, and you could see the cheddar’s color popping from the brown. I like horseradish, so I was looking forward to the sauce, while Matt doesn’t like it in the least (his sandwiches consist largely of mayonnaise ;)).

earl-of-sandwich-the-original-1792-close

I was pleasantly surprised by this sandwich. Each element held its own for flavor. The horseradish sauce was fairly sweet, with a hint of horseradish adding a peppery bite. The cheddar was just-melted, adding a touch more creaminess to the sauce and moisture to the roast beef and bread. Matt thought the overall sandwich was pretty good, even with the horseradish flavor, but he’s also pretty stuck in his sandwich ways. He’d probably modify it if he revisited it, but I’d leave it just the way it is! 🙂

Let us know your favorite Earl of Sandwich sandwich! Is it The Original 1762?

Note: While I’ve reviewed several of Earl of Sandwich’s sandwiches here on Eating WDW in the past, part of this series will be revisiting them at the end of the Eat Each Sandwich Challenge to see if they’ve changed at all since my last taste. If you’re looking for reviews on sandwiches prior to the challenge, you can find them below:

Challenge Checklist (We’ve got our work cut out for us!)

Limited Time Only: Chicken Pesto Pomodoro
The Original 1762
The Earl’s Club
All American
Italian*
The Full Montagu
Cannonballs!
Tuna Melt
Chipotle Chicken Avocado (former Limited Time Only offering)
Hawaiian BBQ
Ham ‘n’ Swiss
Holiday Turkey (former Limited Time Only offering)*
Caprese
Caribbean Jerk Chicken
Best BLT*
Bacon, Egg ‘n’ Cheddar (Breakfast)*
Ham, Egg ‘n’ Cheddar (Breakfast)
Ham ‘n’ Swiss (Breakfast)
Breakfast BLT*
Any other “Limited Time Only” offerings throughout the year*

*Past Reviews

Holiday Turkey
Italian
Limited Time Only: French Dip
Best BLT
Breakfast Bacon, Egg ‘n’ Cheddar
Breakfast BLT

6 responses to “Earl of Sandwich’s The Original 1762

  1. I’m in even worse shape – last time I was there I had an adult-sized grilled cheese sandwich. I must say, it was pretty awesome paired with tomato soup. I regret nothing! 😀

  2. That sounds soooo good though!! 🙂

  3. I agree the Original 1762 is pretty darned tasty! I fudged a bit on the #2013eateachsandwich challenge though – I added lettuce and tomato 🙂 So far, I’ve had 6 of the 19 sandwiches (this list includes the new additions and the breakfast sandwiches)… I’d say that 3 or 4 of these are excellent & two were slightly disappointing.

  4. Cheater! 😛 Matt would have nixed the sauce and added green peppers, tomatoes and mayo if he made it to his standards. 🙂 At least you’ve got a good headstart on me! I see a lot of sandwiches in my future… Not saying that’s a bad thing! 🙂

  5. Ah! Green peppers would definitely be cheating. (1) Can’t stand them and (2) not a standard sandwich addition in my book :). But, if Matt likes them, he can have them. Next question – does he have a particular favorite mayo??

  6. Hellmans. 🙂 I’m a Miracle Whip gal.