Earl of Sandwich’s Kids Grilled Cheese

We’re continuing our 2013 Eat Each Sandwich Challenge that Nora & Nick of Extra WDW Magic thought up (#2013eateachsandwich)! Today we’re reviewing the Grilled Cheese from the Kids Menu.

earl-of-sandwich-kids-grilled-cheese-wrapped

April is National Grilled Cheese Month, and this past Friday the 12th was National Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day. While Earl of Sandwich doesn’t have a grilled cheese on the standard menu, they do serve a Cheddar and Swiss version for the little ones.

earl-of-sandwich-kids-grilled-cheese

While the sandwich isn’t overflowing with cheese, there the bold flavors of the cheddar and Swiss are prominent. The cheese doesn’t have the gooey quality that you would find using American cheese and does solidify after a few minutes.

earl-of-sandwich-kids-grilled-cheese-cross

While my “grown-up” tastes enjoyed this sandwich (and would have loved dunking it into some tomato soup!), I wonder how “kids these days” would receive it. I know I didn’t like Swiss at all when I was younger, but that was 20-some years ago.

earl-of-sandwich-kids-grilled-cheese-close

I enjoyed the sandwich, and know more than a few adults that wouldn’t mind seeing a version of it on the adult menu. I would imagine it can be made as a special request, as kids size is small (though perfect for those with smaller appetites!).

Have you ordered Earl of Sandwich’s Grilled Cheese for yourself or you children? What did you or your young one think of it? Let us know!

Challenge Checklist

Limted Time: BBQ Pulled Pork
Limited Time: Cuban
Limited Time: Chicken Pesto Pomodoro
The Original 1762
The Earl’s Club
All American
Italian*
The Full Montagu
Cannonballs!
Tuna Melt
Chipotle Chicken Avocado (former Limited Time offering)*
Hawaiian BBQ
Ham ‘n’ Swiss
Holiday Turkey (former Limited Time offering)*
Caprese
Caribbean Jerk Chicken
Best BLT*
Any other “Limited Time” offerings throughout the year*

Breakfast:

Bacon, Egg ‘n’ Cheddar*
Ham, Egg ‘n’ Cheddar
Ham ‘n’ Swiss
Breakfast BLT*

Kids:

Pizza Sandwich
Grilled Cheese
Turkey ‘N’ Swiss

*Past Reviews

Chipotle Chicken Avocado
Holiday Turkey
Italian
Limited Time: French Dip
Best BLT
Breakfast Bacon, Egg ‘n’ Cheddar
Breakfast BLT

6 responses to “Earl of Sandwich’s Kids Grilled Cheese

  1. I requested my grilled cheese in an adult size and was given what I can only assume was the same cheese lend on a regular adult bread portion. It was very good, especially dipped in the tomato soup, but I would quibble that the bread-to-cheese ratio was a bit too high, for my taste at least. If they develop a dedicated adult grilled cheese sandwich they should definitely scale up in the dairy department.

    Not particularly illuminating photo here! http://s875.photobucket.com/user/aintbaroque/media/sandwich.jpg.html?sort=3&o=0

    (Sorry for the Photobucket – my WDW blog doesn’t launch for a few weeks yet so my hands are tied.)

  2. That looks yummy! And since I am on a diet, I wouldn’t mind the small size!

  3. Jenn – Thanks for sharing the pic! I figured they would happily oblige. Dairy would need to be upped to make it feel more like a meal, even if perhaps adding some mozzarella, which they already have on hand. Plus the mozz would add a stretch factor to the cheesiness!

    Ricardo – I typically get two meals out of an adult size sandwich, so the kids size is perfect for light eaters or dieters that don’t want to carry around their leftovers. 🙂

  4. I’ve never gotten the grilled cheese but would think it would be great with the tomato soup. I always get the kids size sandwich because I can’t eat an adult size and it never tastes good later because the lettuce and tomato wilt when heated. They will happily make ham, turkey or roast beef with whatever cheese you want.

    I also learned recently you can buy just the bread. They won’t sell it uncooked but it’s only $1.00 a roll. (and don’t forget the AAA discount)

  5. Thanks for the tip, Tracy! I might have ti buy their bread sometime for sandwich experimentation at home! 🙂 Annual passholders also get 10% off as well, so be sure to use it if you have one, especially if you’re participating in the Challenge. That discount will DEFINiTELY add up! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Extra! Extra! Read All About It! – April 21, 2013 « Extra Walt Disney World Magic