La Cava del Tequila’s Horchata Margarita

It’s been a little while since I’ve stopped in to La Cava del Tequila tucked into the Mexico pavilion. Upon seeing the Horchata Margarita spotted by a friend of Drinking Disney, I knew it was definitely time for another visit to the popular watering hole.

la-cava-del-tequila

The Horchata Margarita is made with Exotico 100% agave premium silver Tequila, horchata liquor, agave nectar, agua de horchata and Fireball Cinnamon Whiskey served with a cinnamon and sugar rim. Mexican horachata is a beverage traditionally made with rice. The margarita is then topped with a healthy dose of cinnamon.

la-cava-del-tequila-horchata-margarita

The Horchata Margarita seems a bit “heavier” than its fruitier counterparts. My first sip was reminiscent of a thin egg nog, primarily thanks to the cinnamon and whiskey flavors. After drinking it a bit more, the rice flavor became more prominent, reminding me more of a flavor similar to rice pudding. Because this margarita felt a bit more substantial and almost dessert-like, one would be my limit.

Matt ordered a Blood Orange Margarita, a concoction of El Mayor premium silver Tequila, orange liqueur, sweet-tart mix of blood orange juice and hibiscus syrup, topped with wild berry foam and served on the rocks. I’ve enjoyed the sweet-tart margarita in the past, and this time in particular it was made STRONG. Matt took his first sip and was a bit surprised himself! If you’re looking for a refreshing change of pace from a standard margarita and like some tartness in your drink, give this one a try.

la-cava-del-tequila-blood-orange-margarita

And of course, we needed some chips and salsa to help soak up that alcohol! It served with two salsas (the menu simply reads “Chipotle Salsa”). One is quite mild with a cilantro flavor, while the other has a bit of heat. I like bothm but prefer the latter. 🙂

la-cava-del-tequila-chips-and-salsa

Does the Horchata Margarita sound intriguing to you? Do you think you would give it a try on your next visit to La Cava del Tequila? Let us know!

10 responses to “La Cava del Tequila’s Horchata Margarita

  1. What kind of salt rims the blood orange margarita? I require the chili salt on every margarita I order!

  2. I’ve found that it’s luck of the draw on whether it comes with the salt at all sometimes. They seem to be fond of the hibiscus Himalayan sea salt. I just order it as whatever I’m drinking comes. Matt usually requests no salt at all. We do have ghost pepper salt at home, though!

  3. Love to get the trio of dips and chips at La Cava del Tequila (they don’t always have them though, if it’s busy then they don’t offer the trio). I really want to try the Horchata Margarita, maybe in a couple of days 🙂 Also, I can highly recommend the pineapple margarita at La Cava (had it a few weeks ago & it was very tasty!).

  4. I’ve had the queso there (very good!), but not the guacamole from what I remember. There surprisingly was a table open when we were there on Saturday, and no line to speak of. There was a queue set up outside of the bar area, and it looked like they were keeping patrons moving. Note that our drinks were served in plastic cups that day, so perhaps they were expecting bigger crowds and wanted to keep the tables turning.

  5. The horchata margarita sounds INCREDIBLY intriguing to me. I love horchata (and anything cinnamon, really). I did think when I saw Drinking Disney’s post that it seemed like a dessert-y drink, and I’m in to those more than you are. With your mild endorsement, this sounds right up my alley.

  6. I really liked the drink, but that being said, one was plenty. I’d certainly order again, though it feels more like a cool weather or dessert drink to me. We ended up finishing our drinks while walking around the park, and it was a bit chilly out, so it was perfect. Otherwise it might have felt like a “Milk was a bad choice…” moment if it started to get warm, haha!

  7. Planning to try this tomorrow 🙂 I’ll try to convince Nick to order something else that I like so that we can share the two 🙂 Earlier this morning, he was trying to convince me that I could drink 13 margaritas at WDW in 13 hours… That would be a feat! But it’s not a challenge I’m up to!!!

  8. Awesome! Based on how strong they sometimes make margaritas (especially at La Cava), that would be quite the feat!

  9. We have been going to Disney for the past few years for Christmas vacation, and I always make a point to stop at the Cava. I knew from a previous visit that they had a spicy margarita, but I asked if they had anything hotter than jalapeno…
    Oh yes they did! He offered to make me a habanero margarita, and instead of just using some “spicy” mix, chopped up some fresh habaneros to muddle and go into the drink. Oh my was it good! It was very spicy indeed, but so very delicious.

  10. Roger – Sounds, and looks, awesome! That beverage will certainly awaken your taste buds! I’ll have to keep your cocktail in mind for a future visit. Thank you for sharing! 🙂