Kringla Bakeri og Kafe’s School Bread

While I’ve tried a few of the desserts in the past from Kringla Bakeri og Kafe, located in the Norway pavilion at Epcot, I haven’t reviewed any here on the blog. In particular, I’ve had the Cloudberry Horn (now slightly revamped into the Troll Horn) and the Lefse. As a neglected pavilion  for my reviews, I sought to rectify that situation with a visit, and I ordered a cult classic (which I’ve never had), the School Bread.

kringla

Kringla Bakeri og Kafe serves a few entrees consisting primarily of sandwiches, but the real draw of the space are the pastries. Most of the items on the menu you won’t find elsewhere on property. I have a lot to look forward to! 😉

norway-kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-menu-42013

But on to the School Bread. This pastry is described as a Sweet Cardamom Bun filled with Vanilla Creme Custard and topped with Glaze and Toasted Coconut.

norway-kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-school-bread

norway-kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-school-bread-close

norway-kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-school-bread-detailOur School Bread was erupting.

The bun of this pastry definitely leans to the side of its namesake “bread.” It’s light, airy, and not too sweet, with a hint of cardamom. The vanilla creme custard is silky, and once again not too sweet. I found most of the sugar in this treat to come from the glaze that’s holding on the delicious coconut. I need to take cue from Disney Hipsters Adam and Andrew to make this at home.

norway-kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-school-bread-cross

Here’s a look at the other pastries you’ll find at Kringla Bakeri og Kafe:

norway-kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-display-2 Cheesecake, School Bread, Rullekake, Rice Cream, Veiled Maiden,
No Sugar Added Chocolate Mousse, Worms in Dirt

norway-kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-display-1Troll Horn, Berry Cream Puff, Verdens Beste, Pear Almond Tart,
Viking Chocolate Mousse

norway-kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-display-4Sweet Pretzel with Chocolate, Sweet Pretzel with Almonds

norway-kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-display-5 Waffles, Chocolate Chip Cookie

norway-kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-display-6Cherry Danish, Apple Danish, Cinnamon Roll

So which is you favorite pastry from Kringla Bakeri og Kafe? Is it the classic School Bread? Do you prefer the unassuming Lefse? Let us know what you want see reviewed from the cafe!

14 responses to “Kringla Bakeri og Kafe’s School Bread

  1. We used to get school bread on each trip to Walt Disney World. It became smaller and smaller over the last ten years. Haven’t had it in recent years.
    I tried the cloudberry horn once and didn’t care for it.
    Can’t hep wondering what the waffles are like 🙂

  2. Y’know, I tried this for the first time last year, and it was delicious – but I couldn’t shake the overall impression that what I had, in essence, was a cream-filled donut. I’m definitely glad I gave it a shot and I’m not precluding it permanently, but there are quite a few more unique treats that I think I’ll head for first. Of course, this could be more of an indicator of my love of cupcake frosting than anything else…

  3. Nora – While I’d never had it before, I do remember it being larger as well when making my way through the line!

    Jenn – It does have that donut quality to it, but I liked how it wasn’t tooth-hurting sweet. I especially liked how the bread portion was just that – more like bread than cake. If you’re looking for something really sweet like a cupcake, this probably won’t do the trick. 😉

  4. I had one of these on my honeymoon last year. I wasn’t very impressed by it. The bread was very dry and the custard tasted more of instant pudding to me than pastry cream. I likely won’t be getting one again. The kringles (sweet pretzels), however, have never been a disappointment and are a better deal if you are on the dining plan in the first place. It’s win-win.

  5. Justin – Sorry you didn’t care for the School Bread. I still have to try one of the Kringla – I’ll probably go with the almond version.

  6. Finally got around to trying it this past year but I’m not entirely sure I liked it. It was nice that it wasn’t that sweet but I found mine to be rather dry and didn’t have much custard (although what was there was good). I preferred the cloudberry horn although even that was rather plain tasting.

  7. Cherry – Mine was the complete opposite! It wasn’t dry at all and had a LOT of custard. Another one of those luck-of-the-draw items, I suppose! 🙂

  8. If it weren’t for the coconut, School Bread might be a favorite of mine. I’ve never tried any of the Kringla Bakeri snacks, but I suspect Lefse will be the hit for me.

  9. Melissa – I really liked the Lefse. While the bread was pretty simple, I loved the cinnamon and butter rolled within. You should stop in next time to try something new!

  10. I love that place but don’t go there enough! I think it’s been 5-6 years since I last entered there… I love their open faced salmon sandwich and the cream puff… Their lefse is pretty good too. I have yet to try the school bread. It looks so good!

  11. I love the School Bread so much! The creme custard filling works great with the not-to-sweet bun.
    I’ve also tried the cinnamon roll and the waffle with jam. The waffle was really good, but School Bread is still my favorite overall.
    When I go to WDW in May, I think I’ll try the Lefse.

    I’d love to see more Kringla Reviews!

  12. Ricardo – You should certainly stop back in at Kringla since it’s been so long!

    Andrew – I’ll certainly do some more Kringla reviews! Glad to hear you like the School Bread. I hope you have a great time on your upcoming trip!

  13. Update: I visited Kringla on my WDW trip 2 weeks ago, and tried some more Norwegian treats – Lefse and Verden’s Beste. The Verden’s Beste is a small rum cake topped with custard and topped (right when you order it, so it doesn’t soak in) with meringue, which has two slivered almonds on top. I liked it, but given the other choices at Kringla, I wouldn’t get it again. It was a little too sweet for my liking, so I saved half of it for later. It didn’t keep too well because the custard soaked up the meringue, but I did finish it. 😉
    However, the real star of my visit was the Lefse. The lefse itself has the look of a darkened large tortilla, though it tastes nothing like one. It’s made with wheat and potato flour, so it’s more filling and has a salty taste. The lefse is then spread with a sweet cinnamon butter (the best part!) and is tightly rolled before being cut in half. When you order it, you’ll get two of the Lefse that you see in the display case. My first bite (from the non-middle end) sort of threw me off due to the salty potato flavor, but once I got to the cinammon-buttery middle, it was a wonderful harmony of salty and sweet! For $1.99, you’d be hard-pressed to find a better deal for a snack. It’s not very sweet, which I like, and it’s more filling than most snacks. Also, it keeps great! I brought some back to our vacation home some 7 hours later and it still tasted fresh.

    My hope is to eventually try all of the Kringla treats marked “traditional Norwegian favorite”. Four more to go!

  14. I like the Lefse too! I haven’t reviewed it on the blog, though. Matt wasn’t much of a fan despite loving butter. And it is really a great deal at $1.99! Now I’m craving one, haha! 🙂