Jiko’s Za’atar-Rubbed Lamb Wood-Fired Flatbread

One thing I love about many of the table service restaurants on Disney property is their seasonal menus. One thing that can drive me a bit batty is said seasonal menus. I love being able to be surprised by something new, but sometimes miss out on something I spot on a menu one day, only to have it disappear on my next visit. One of those items that likes to get reinvented is the flatbread.

Jiko in particular has some really fantastic wood-fired flatbreads. During my last visit, I tried their Buffalo and Pork Boerewors Sausage version. Currently there are three flatbreads available: Za’atar-rubbed Lamb, KG’s Peri-Peri Roasted Chicken and Roasted Kubota Squash and Kalamata Olive. The Za’atar-rubbed lamb is one of the options that has stood out to me for a while, and I knew I had to get over to Jiko soon to give it a try.

jiko-zaatar-rubbed-lamb-wood-fired-flatbread

The Za’atar-rubbed Lamb flatbread is also topped with Cranberry-Pear Chutney and Point Reyes Blue Cheese. The za’atar seasoning was quite bold, and the flavor of the lamb was strong. The previously reviewed lamb in the Lamb Kefta Sliders from nearby restaurant Sanaa was much more mild. The chutney added a fruity sweetness which helped mellow out the bold flavors of both the lamb and the blue cheese.

jiko-zaatar-rubbed-lamb-wood-fired-flatbread-close

I had plenty left over, so brought the remaining portion home so Matt could taste it as well. It was another winning dish for him, although I still think if he was at Jiko with me, he would have ordered his favorite Grilled Wild Boar Tenderloin:

jiko-grilled-wild-boar-tenderloin

Here’s a look at the menus from my recent visit. If you’re looking to try any item in particular, it’s probably best to call ahead to be sure it’s still on the menu! Otherwise, be sure to have a back-up plan. 😉

jiko-menu-42713

jiko-kids-menu-42713

Let us know what your favorite dishes are at Jiko!

9 responses to “Jiko’s Za’atar-Rubbed Lamb Wood-Fired Flatbread

  1. We’re hoping to go to Jiko’s on Monday night. This flatbread looks lovely & will likely be on our “we’re splitting” plans 🙂

  2. Awesome! Let me know what you two think of it! 🙂

  3. That wild boar is absolutely my favorite! I wish they would make it an entree!

  4. Just order two! 😛

  5. Lamb, cranberry, pear AND blue cheese? I’m really sad that by the time I visit again, this will almost definitely be gone. It may be one I have to try to make at home. I haven’t the foggiest idea how za’atar seasoning should taste, but with those other flavors, how can the finished product NOT be good?

  6. Totally give it a try at home! I’m sure something amazing will be on the menu when you are down. Za’atar seasonings are so varied, like ras el hanout. Look at several recipes for the blend to get a feel for it, and find the flavors you enjoy to create your own!

  7. Pingback: Extra! Extra! Read All About It! – May 5, 2013 « Extra Walt Disney World Magic

  8. Oh my! Both of those dishes look amazing! I love exotic meats, so those would be right up my alley. For instance, at a local restaurant I once got a wild boar, elk, and venison meatloaf which was fantastic. Sadly, I’ve never been to any of the Animal Kingdom Lodge restaurants. The higher prices always scare us, but we’ll have to make an exception for our next trip. After all, it is vacation, right?
    Thanks for all the mouth-watering pictures!

  9. You’re welcome! We LOVE game meats too! I’ve had elk in sausage form. Also am a fan of both venison and alligator jerky. At Napa Rose in the Grand Californian out at Disneyland, we had an awesome Rabbit Meatloaf!