Drinks at Tambu Lounge

Tambu Lounge at the Polynesian resort serves up several tropical cocktails, and we have long been fans of visiting before a trip to Magic Kingdom, taking a mid-day break, or grabbing a drink to watch Wishes from the resort’s beach. We’re no strangers to the Backscratcher, Blue Hawaii and Tropical Macaw, but one cocktail I’ve recently wanted to try that I surprisingly had not was the Lapu Lapu.

tambu-lounge-cocktail-menu-11-10-12

The Lapu Lapu features Myer’s Original Dark Rum and Tropical Fruit Juices served in a fresh pineapple topped with Bacardi 151 Rum. Much like we order our Backscratchers without the actual backscratcher, I really didn’t need the drink to served in the shrink-wrapped pineapple. As fun as it is, I was interested in the cocktail, so I requested a regular glass. But even that regular glass is still fun!

tambu-lounge-lapu-lapu

The drink is mixed quite strong, and the fruit juices aren’t too sweet. The tart flavors are more prominent, making for a well-composed cocktail to those of us who don’t care for overly sweet cocktails. It might not keep me from ordering a Backscratcher in the future, but it’s a viable option when I’m looking for a change of pace.

tambu-lounge-lapu-lapu-close

Matt kept it simple with a draft Kona Longboard Lager, a crisp and smooth beer that we’ve both enjoyed before.

tambu-lounge-kona-longboard-lagerWhich cocktail do you like to imbibe while at Tambu Lounge?

9 responses to “Drinks at Tambu Lounge

  1. That little tiki glass is so fun! I would be tempted to take one home.

  2. They do sell them at the gift shop, Boutiki, downstairs! 😀

  3. Oh, but you missed the best part. In the pineapple, the alcohol soaks into the fruit and then you can scrap the innards out. Yum! There’s actually folks who bring their own “sporks” for such a task. I’ll have to try the Backscratcher next time though.

  4. I think I’d prefer just drinking my cocktail straight from a glass than dealing with the mess of trying to scrape the pineapple. 😉

  5. Thanks for the tip about the souvenir glasses! They’re too cute to pass up.

  6. You’re welcome!

  7. Pingback: Favorite Tradition: Lapu Lapu at the Tambu Lounge | FOOD · FITNESS · FANTASY

  8. I like those tiki glasses ;( Can we go here the next time I visit????????

  9. Absolutely! We have a set at home and Matt uses them for Bloody Marys. 🙂