Snacks from Japan: Kasugai Ramune Flavor Gummy Candy

Our “Snacks from…” series treats you to different snacks found in the World Showcase pavilions at Epcot. Find more reviews here! Continuing our series, we head to Mitsukoshi in Epcot’s Japan pavilion!

Here at Eating WDW, we’re big fans of Ramune soda. While we enjoy many of the flavors available, you just can’t go wrong with the “original” flavor. Kasugai created a variety of gummy candy which we love, so combining the classic flavor of ramune in a candy gummy was right up our alley.

kasugai-ramune-flavored-gummy-candy

kasugai-ramune-flavored-gummy-candy-back Each gummy contained in the bag is individually wrapped, and the 3.59 ounce bag contains approximately 24 pieces. Upon opening the bag, I could immediately smell the sweet lemon-lime flavor of the soda.

kasugai-ramune-flavored-gummy-candy-packs
Upon eating my first piece, it was kind of reminiscent in flavor to ramune, but it tasted a tad off to me. Not off as in it had gone bad, but that something was lost in translation into the gummy form. After chewing, the sweetness became a bit cloying when it hit the back of my throat. I gave another one a try, but the same thing happened. Matt, on the other hand, has been working on the remainder of the bag for me. He seems to like them, but I prefer a bit of tartness in gummies, like the kiwi ones we had before.

kasugai-ramune-flavored-gummy-candy-pieceIf you like ramune and gummy candy, give these a try. I don’t think I’d buy this particular flavor for myself again, but I’m sure there are others (like Matt) who enjoy them. For me, I’ll just have the bottle of ramune, thank you. 🙂

5 responses to “Snacks from Japan: Kasugai Ramune Flavor Gummy Candy

  1. I think I have tried all the different flavors they have… and this one was not good for me… I prefer all the different fruit flavors.

  2. I’ve never had ramune but I LOVE the gummy candies from Japan. Before we moved to the Orlando area, when we’d vacation at WDW, I’d buy one of those strip packs that had a variety of gummy candy flavors to take home. I’d have ONE candy per day to make them last. The flavors always took me back to Epcot and Japan…

  3. Ricardo – I agree – the fruit versions are much more pleasant!

    Nora – I was the same with candies from Japan when I lived up north! Had to make them last… Imagine how happy I was when the supermarket started carrying a small selection of Japanese treats! 🙂

  4. I like Ramune, and I like gummies, but I don’t know how I would feel about mixing them. I think that without a little effervescence, it wouldn’t feel like “real” Ramune to me. I’ll stick to the boring gummy flavors like cherry and watermelon. Danny really likes the lychee gummies, but I can’t bring myself to try them because I think they smell terrible.

  5. Excellent point about the effervescence! Never really crossed my mind, but it makes sense of how it affects the flavor. As for the lychee, I like the flavor, but it probably is a bit of an acquired taste. They have some lychee flavored drinks – maybe that would be a better option for you! 🙂