T-Rex Cafe’s Asteroid French Onion Soup

We’re big fans of French Onion Soup here at Eating WDW. Some fantastic versions can be found around property, with one of my favorites being at The Turf Club Bar and Grill at Saratoga Springs. While walking around Downtown Disney, I found myself incredibly hungry. I perused menus but nothing was really catching my eye, and I was looking for a dish that I haven’t reviewed yet. It was also lunch hour, and everything had a crazy line. Earl of Sandwich’s queue and extended well into Mickey’s Pantry, and while I know it moves efficiently, I didn’t think I’d have the patience. πŸ˜‰ The line for T-Rex Cafe was also quite long, but I was able to squeeze in and grab a seat at the bar.

trc-trex-animatronic

On our last visit here, we ordered the Supersauras Sampler, of which Matt and I each had our favorite items. Since this visit I was flying solo (and I still had more eating on my agenda ;)), I kept it simple and somewhat light with the Asteroid French Onion Soup. It’s described as a traditional sherry-based onion soup baked with a large crouton and bubbling Swiss cheese.

t-rex-cafe-asteroid-french-onion-soupIsn’t the bowl it’s served in cute?

The cheese was so plentiful on this that the thick crouton succumbed to its weight once it started to soften. While I do like a bit of browned cheese on top, there was none of it to be seen here as most of the cheese was under the broth. The broth was light with just enough salt. There weren’t a lot of onions, but what were there had been softened a bit further than a sweat, so they were soft but not caramelized. The bread had become completely saturated by broth, yet it was far from absorbing it all. The star of the show here was clearly the cheese. Most had made it to the bottom and I kept digging at a huge mass of stretchy cheese.

t-rex-cafe-asteroid-french-onion-soup-close

I liked the soup a lot, and while it’s not the Turf Club’s version I loved, I wouldn’t hesitate ordering at T-Rex Cafe again. It’s definitely enough food for a light meal, and if you’re a fan of French Onion Soup, it’s worth a try. Oh yeah, and there was also a small piece of what looked like garlic toast served alongside, but I didn’t even spot it until the dish was being carried away. 😦

Oh, and don’t forget to order yourself an icy chalice of beer. Here’s a pic of a Yuengling from my previous visit, but this time I enjoyed a Sam Adams Summer Ale. (They also have icy chalices at Splitsville.)

trc-yuengling-chaliceYuengling Chalice

To see what else T-Rex Cafe serves, you can click here for a PDF of the menu.

Do you like to stop by T-Rex Cafe when you venture to Downtown Disney? What do you like to order?

5 responses to “T-Rex Cafe’s Asteroid French Onion Soup

  1. That looks awesome. I hope to be able to travel down to Florida and vacation in that area. I could just imagine all the wonderful restaurants and places to eat. Thanks for sharing and best of luck with everything πŸ™‚

  2. I adore French onion soup. Even the worst versions are worthwhile! I guess I know what I’ll order if I ever find myself at T-Rex.

  3. I know what you mean! I know I’ve ordered it on more than one occasion from a restaurant whose version was too salty. πŸ™‚

  4. I always get the French Onion soup & the “fish bowl” beer at T-Rex! Never has it looked like yours though! Always looks & tastes delicious.

  5. Ha! Never thought of it as a “fish bowl!” I always refer to it as a chalice, ever since my first time experiencing such a glass during a post-work beer at Hamburger Hamlet in Bethesda, MD. Ah, the memories! πŸ˜€