L’Artisan des Glaces

L’Artisan des Glaces has opened in Epcot’s France, replacing the former Boulangerie Patisserie that expanded and opened next door in the pavilion. The shop sells a variety of ice cream and sorbet.

lartisan-des-glaces

Once you enter the shop, you pay at the register for one or two scoops, and you can also get the ice cream with liquor, should you choose. I apparently asked the incorrect cast member (there were 5) for one scoop, who rolled their eyes and informed me I had to pay first. Mind you, I was standing at the register, placing the order and ready to pay…

lartisan-des-glaces-interior

lartisan-des-glaces-menu

I ordered a single scoop of Profiterole in a waffle cone. The ice cream itself was quite good. It has a light consistency, and the flavor I ordered wasn’t overly sweet. It certainly hit the spot on a hot day.

lartisan-des-glaces-displays

lartisan-des-glaces-profiterole

lartisan-des-glaces-profiterole-closeI’m curious to see how busy the shop gets as the crowds become heavier with summer upon us. It was quite empty on my visit, and its sparseness compared to its previous tenant provided an interesting look at the space. Will you be stopping by on your next visit?

11 responses to “L’Artisan des Glaces

  1. Wow….kinda rude! You would think as its a newly opened location the CM’s would have a little more patience!

  2. I was a bit shocked. All I did was place my order with the first CM to make eye contact with me… I didn’t mean to be an inconvenience. 🙂

  3. I look forward to trying some sorbet on my next visit! I expect some flavors my change by then, and I hope we’ll see some seasonal autumn flavors. Maybe maple ice cream or pear sorbet.

  4. I’d LOVE for Maple Walnut! I get my fix for it at Kilwins in Celebration. 🙂

  5. The last time we were in DeLand I had maple walnut from Rodeo Whip!

  6. Well the eye roll is certainly the best part of that story. HOW RUDE.
    But that dessert does look good…

  7. Oh yeah, the ice cream is really good. I just hated how I felt like a “stupid American” when I did absolutely nothing wrong…

  8. I had to laugh about the eye roll. The same exact thing happened to us! We were the only family in there and there were 5 young ladies behind the counter, none of whom seemed to want to take our order. (Mon Dieu, it’s just a scoop of ice cream.) It seems their CM’s need a bit more training. Are they on a new College Program semester or maybe that it’s just a new restaurant?

  9. I’ve noticed similar issues during Food & Wine, and even at the Flower & Garden kiosk that was out. They seem like they just don’t want to be there. 😦

  10. I had a similar experience at the Boulangerie Patisserie. I went there once with my kids. The guy who got the food was annoyed he had to warm four pizza-like breads. Hey, he offered and pizza is usually served warm! Once we proceeded to the register, the two cashiers, who were not occupied, refused to make eye contact. We returned for our second and final visit with my husband and had almost an identical experience. It bothered my husband so much, he has decided to not return. :o(

  11. Such a shame you had a similar experience at Boulangerie! It’s not asking much to have a simple order served with some basic politeness. 😦