Quick Bite: D23 Member Mixer at House of Blues

At the beginning of the month, D23 held a Member Mixer at House of Blues. Matt and I stopped by for it, fashionably late due to work (and I apologize for the iPhone pics – didn’t bring the real camera!), and were quite hungry upon arrival. While food was not covered by D23, members do receive 15% off their food purchase. Jim MacPhee, Jeffrey Epstein, and George Kalogridis were there, and we were able to speak for a few moments with George. Really nice guy, but on to the food! I haven’t been to House of Blues since last summer when I tried the Bay Shrimp and Avocado Street Tacos.

house-of-blues-orlando-the-heat-seeker-burger

There were a few items that stood out to Matt, but he made a game-time decision and ordered The Heat Seeker – a burger featuring a Certified Angus beef patty topped with pulled pork, pickled jalapeรฑo peppers, buffalo sauce, Pepper Jack cheese on a brioche bun. This choice surprised me a bit, as while he does like pulled pork, and a pulled pork-topped burger wouldn’t be a stretch, he doesn’t typically go after items with a lot of spicy elements like I do. Oh, and the canned beer was brought in from the patio bar – they serve beer in bottles (no draft) in the restaurant.

house-of-blues-orlando-the-heat-seeker-burger-close

The burger is stacked REALLY high, and a lot of that is apparently a salad! ๐Ÿ˜‰ After removal of some of the vegetable elements, it became a touch more manageable, and was overall an enjoyable burger.

The cucumber salad was quite good as well, with a hint of sweetness balancing out the tartness of the vinegar. We would have both like to have seen some more in the dish.

house-of-blues-orlando-cucumber-salad

The fries were well-prepared, with a crispy exterior and soft interior, and just enough salt. The could have been a bit hotter, but otherwise, they were about what you expect decent fries to be. ๐Ÿ™‚

house-of-blues-orlando-fries

I’m struggling to find some awesome chicken wings near where I live. It looks like the one place I enjoyed them closed down. I decided to give House of Blues’ a try. Their Chicken Wings are described to be fried crispy and tossed your choice of sauce, of which I chose their smoked tomato BBQ sauce (Jamaican style spicy jerk sauce and Buffalo hot sauce are also available), and served over housemade cole slaw.

These, like the fries, could have been served at a better temp (I think the waitstaff was a bit overwhelmed by the busy restaurant and the D23 private event – there was a concert going on that night, so it seems many were grabbing dinner first). Any crispiness seemed to have dissipated as it absorbed the sauce, which itself tasted pretty good. There were some bits of skin that retained a bit of snap though, and I enjoyed those parts most. But in execution of serving a “crispy” item on a bed of wet slaw, it’s probably not the best choice. Some of the wings that were more in contact with it had almost soggy skin in areas. Still, I’d order these again, but I’d be sure to request that the slaw be served on the side.

house-of-blues-orlando-smoked-tomato-bbq-sauce-chicken-wings

The Drink Special was called “True Love’s Kiss” – Belvedere Vodka, Watermelon Pucker, Splash of Sprite and Garnished with Lemon.

Specialty Cocktails included:

“Electric Lemonade Parade” – Grey Goose and Blue Curaรงao mixed with Lemonade and Sweet & Sour

“Celebration Sensation” – Bacardi, Bacardi Limon and Bacardi O mixed with Cranberry Juice and a Splash of Coke

“Maelstrom” – Bacardi mixed with Cointreau, Pineapple Juice, Orange Juice, Lime Juice and Grenadine topped with Myer’s Dark Rum

“Classic Studio Martini” – a bombast Sapphire Martini, Straight Up with an Olive

I thought I had a picture of the descriptions, but apparently I don’t. I have the list at home and will update tonight. ๐Ÿ™‚

20130627-183739.jpg

We had a nice time and decent dinner at the mixer, but still would like to go back to really revisit the menu and order a full meal soon. Of course, we’ll let you know when we do! In the meantime, let us know what you like to order when you visit House of Blues!

4 responses to “Quick Bite: D23 Member Mixer at House of Blues

  1. Arghhh, you’re making me hungry this morning ๐Ÿ™‚
    That burger looks great, but I think it would be something we’d have to split given the size (it looks huge).
    Wing suggestion… The chicken wings at Shutters are usually good – they’re sauced with habenero and brown sugar. They used to have vanilla bean in the sauce, but I’m not sure if they still do.

  2. Yes – the burger is definitely split-able! I even think Matt took half home. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’ve seen the wings on the Shutters menu and have wanted to try them, especially because of the habanero! I’ll have to get over sooner than later. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Thinking about the House of Blues just makes me sad about the time I missed Flogging Molly by a mere two weeks. Ah well; I should suck it up and try it some time. I hear they have a nice happy hour.

  4. I saw FM there several years ago. Great show! The Happy Hour used to have half price apps, but now I think it’s just $3 domestics and $3.75 imports in the restaurant (according to the website). Still, not bad for Disney! ๐Ÿ™‚