Beaches Pool Bar & Grill

Yesterday we took you for lunch at Gasparilla Island Grill at the Grand Floridian, but one of their pool bars, tucked between the Alice In Wonderland-inspired kids water play area and the Beaches Pool. Building features and ordering window to get food to go, and offers a few more substantial items to take back to your beach chair or room to enjoy.

beaches-pool-bar-and-grill-menu-1-7713

I’m certainly interested in the Tomato, Watercress and Feta salad. If it’s as tasty as a similar version I enjoyed during Flower & Garden Festival, it’s sure to be a hit!

beaches-pool-bar-and-grill-menu-2-7713

2013-flower-garden-florida-fresh-watermelon-saladFlorida Fresh’s Watermelon Salad from the 2013 Flower & Garden Festival The Watermelon Salad with Pickled Red Onions, BW Farm Baby Arugula, Feta Cheese and Balsamic Reduction

fresh-a-peel-house-made-falafel-veggie-burgerFresh A-Peel’s (now Bodie’s All American) House-Made Falafel Veggie Burger

The Falafel Burger with Chipotle Hummus on a Brioche Bun also sounds like a great option. The former Fresh A-Peel (now Bodie’s All-American) served a delicious, though messy, one as well. It’s still on the Bodie’s menu, and the description remains the same. I’m looking forward to giving Beaches Pool Bar’s a try to see how it stacks up!

Turning the corner to the bar section, you’ll find a slightly different menu, with a few more interesting options. In fact, each of the food offerings stands out. Sushi? Slider Trio featuring Duck Confit, Beef Chimichurri and a Crab Cake? And that Boursinburger sounds like it could give the Grand Gaspy Burger a run for its money!

beaches-pool-bar-and-grill-menu-3-7713

And just when you thought the food sounds great, take a look at their beer menu. These are in addition to their “standard” lounge menu.

beaches-pool-bar-and-grill-beer-menu-1-7713

beaches-pool-bar-and-grill-beer-menu-2-7713

beaches-pool-bar-and-grill-beer-menu-3-7713

Our friend Betsy tried the Innis & Gunn Oak Aged Scottish Beer and let me sample a sip. It was sweet and malty – definitely a sipping beer in the Florida heat, but a nice change of pace. I asked her if she wanted to try some of my Miller Lite, but she declined. 😉

beaches-pool-bar-and-grill-innis-and-gun

If you’re looking to do a monorail crawl and Mizner’s isn’t open yet, head down to the Beaches Pool Bar & Grill for an entree or appetizers featuring some interesting menu items and a great beer list. There, you can also sit back, relax, and watch the watercraft cruise along the Seven Seas Lagoon. And be sure to let me know what you try and what you think!

19 responses to “Beaches Pool Bar & Grill

  1. OH MY GOD THEY HAVE ABITA PURPLE HAZE I LOVE ABITA PURPLE HAZE

    *slap!*

    Okay, calm now… What were we talking about? The falafel burger sounds interesting.

  2. Danny LOVES Innis & Gunn and other Scotch ales. He’ll be thrilled that it’s offered on property.

  3. Jenn – It you like Purple Haze on draft, they offer it at River Roost (where Yehaa Bob Jackson performs) at Port Orleans Riverside, too!

    Melissa – Hopefully these stick around! Disney is certainly upping the ante with the beer offerings the past couple years. 🙂

  4. They also offer Purple Haze on draft at Scat Cats in Port Orleans French Quarter.

  5. Can you answer a question… Is there a correlation between the food offerings at pool bars and DVC?
    We’ve been drinking Innis & Gunn for a couple of years now (yay Total Wine), last night Nick had the rum barrel version. Quite nice. The flavor improved after it got a bit warmer than refrigerator temperature… Definitely not something you’d want to drink outside in the heat though.

  6. Yes! I believe I recall seeing it myself when I was there a couple months ago. Makes sense considering the theming of the resorts. 🙂

  7. I seem to remember that Abita (varied depending on season) used to be offered at the pool bars at Port Orleans Riverside and French Quarter… But you’re talking 5 or 6 years ago…

  8. Nora – I believe that the new DVC wing at Grand Floridian will be simply rooms – no restaurants or shopping in the building. Everything is housed at the pool bars or in the existing main building.

  9. We noticed last Friday that there is actually a chef at Maji Pool Bar (Kidani Village) and there are entrees on the pool bar menu!
    I’m guessing there was a chef because bartenders may be classified differently from food service.

  10. It’s about time! Especially considering all the additional fees that come with the “Private Dining” menu.

  11. If I remember correctly, the entrees were a chicken sandwich, a hot dog, a panini, and a salad. Nothing spectacular. I’d much rather go by The Mara and pick up a few items for the cooler if I were hanging out at the pool all day…

  12. True, but it’s better than a bag of chips!

  13. I thought that they had cold pre-prepared sandwiches at Maji Pool Bar, just like they do at Leaping Libations (Boardwalk DVC)… before the inclusion of entrees.

  14. I think there were some small grab & go type things, like turkey sandwiches and such.

  15. That’s what I’m remembering.

  16. Awesome, I’m going to check that out. The falafel burger at Fresh-A-Peel is one of my favourite quick service veggie options, and the watermelon eta salad I had at Epcot during Flower & Garden was awesome, so if these items are even similar I’d be very happy!

  17. Jasmine – Hopefully they items are as delicious as F&G and Fresh A-Peel’s! Let me know what you think when you get to try them!

  18. I think I would go just for the Orange Blossom beer. I really liked that during Flower and Garden! This place is cute but always looks kind of crowded?

  19. There are some tables and chairs outside next to the actual bar seating. It was pretty quiet on a Sunday afternoon, but I’m sure a lot of 4th of July vacationers were heading home from vacation at that point. The bar has around 10 large chairs at it.