Kringla Bakeri og Kafe’s Vegetable Souffle

Ever since reading about Kringla’s Vegetable Torte (or Souffle, depending on which sign you read in the shop) over at Disney Hipster Blog, I’ve been wanting to try it. Naturally, I headed over to Epcot’s Norway pavilion to partake!

kringla

The puff pastry is filled with roasted mushrooms, spinach, potatoes, Jarlsberg and Muenster cheese. As Adam and Andrew noted, it certainly isn’t much to look at, but this is a case where looks truly are deceiving.

kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-vegetable-souffle-2

Upon ordering, the pastry is put into an oven to heat up. I think it could have used a bit more time reheating, as the center still had quite a bit of chill to it, leaving the potatoes a bit cold. Still, the cheese was nicely melted and the other components were more than fine.

kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-vegetable-souffle

The souffle has lots of spinach throughout in a creamy base. The pastry itself is flaky and tears apart. It has a touch of crispness from the toasting, followed by some chew from the sauce of the interior soaking in.

kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-vegetable-souffle-close

The simple ingredients are fantastic. It’s hearty comfort food, despite being something I’ve never had before. This is something I want to recreate at home, and I know I’ll be ordering it again from Kringla.

kringla-bakeri-og-cafe-vegetable-souffle-close-2

With all of the delicious sweets available, their savory items are worth a look. One of my friends recently enjoyed the Ham and Apple Sandwich and noted that it was fantastic. I’m looking forward to revisiting this dish in the near future. If you give it a try, let us know what you think!

10 responses to “Kringla Bakeri og Kafe’s Vegetable Souffle

  1. Sounds yummy. Like you say, not much to look at though. Since we moved to Lake Buena Vista, we rarely stop in at Kringla Bakeri anymore… odd. Of course, we’re still a bit miffed by the down-sizing of the School Bread 🙂

  2. I’m sure it was either scale it down or up the price. 😉

  3. Do you remember how big it was in 2002? 2003? It was the size of a full sized Walt Disney World Paper plate (maybe 6? 8? inches in diameter). Now it’s roughly the size of a filled doughnut.
    I would gladly pay more for a super-sized treat (easier to share). But perhaps this is another casualty of the Dining Plan, grrrr.

  4. I vaguely remember them being larger (only had my first one this past spring), but you’re probably right about the dining plan. Since I never use it, I often don’t think about it, but it has clearly impacted pricing and portions.

  5. These are fantastic – one of my favourite veggie items at Disney World.

  6. Glad to hear that! I’m craving one right now. I need to recreate it at home so I can have them any time I want. 🙂

  7. This is one of my go-to light meals at Epcot- I always hit Kringla, and this is what I get every time. The rest of my family gets sweets and pastries, but I get this- usually with a Carlsberg (why are there no beers actually from Norway??). As said before, it’s not the prettiest meal- but you’ve done a great job with these photos! This is the best I’ve ever seen this dish look in pictures! 🙂

  8. Yum! I must try it!

  9. Ricardo – It seems to be very popular!

    Plus the Magic – Since I’m not big on sweets, this is perfect for me since I would much rather eat a savory dish. It’s also a relatively good value – $5.99 and I felt it was perfect for a light meal!

  10. Pingback: Week in Review - September 1, 2013 | Rolling with the MagicRolling with the Magic