Favorite Savory Breakfasts at WDW

I don’t know about you, but I always eat something for breakfast, whether I’m at home or on vacation. I need that punch of protein to wake me up, and while I have my standbys at home, I find it a bit trickier to find something while on property (and one can only eat so many Bounty Platters!). I know many of you love your Mickey Waffles and Tonga Toast (and don’t get me wrong, they are delicious and I do partake in tasting – Thanks, Matt!), but all those sugary carbs leave me feeling more sluggish than energized. I’ve compiled a list of some of my favorite savory breakfast eats I’ve enjoyed over the past year or so, and hopefully you’ve had the chance, too!

contempo-cafe-mickey-waffle-with-banana-caramel-toppingMatt’s idea of breakfast at Contemporary Resort’s Contempo Cafe

While breakfast burritos and wraps aren’t anything out of the ordinary, I’ve sampled several on property, and Contempo Cafe’s Breakfast Burrito has been the best I’ve had so far. The combination of scrambled eggs, chorizo, potatoes, cheddar cheese, black beans, and a cilantro charred tomato salsa work incredibly well, and the size of this behemoth can satiate two hungry guests.

Contempo Cafe’s Breakfast Burrito

Sticking at the Contemporary Resort, I’ll gladly head downstairs to The Wave. It’s my go-to spot before hitting up Magic Kingdom. Whether I have a bit appetite for their amazing Breakfast Buffet, or just a bowl of their phenomenal grits (or a breakfast cocktail ;)), I know I’ll have my hunger kept at bay for several hours after.

the-wave-breakfast-buffet-plate-1The Wave’s Breakfast Buffet Selections

Another Table Service restaurant I frequent is Kouzzina at BoardWalk Inn. Apart from their delicious Bloody Marys, I highly recommend the Breakfast Skillet. The HUGE dish consists of eggs, Pequillo peppers, Nueske’s bacon, onions, and Greek cheese on Sweet potato hash and topped with arugula. Bring a friend to help you eat this! Even a side of bacon is comprised of several thick-cut strips of Nueske’s bacon.

kouzzina-breakfast-skilletKouzzina’s Breakfast Skillet

The Value Resorts are stepping up their breakfast offerings as well. One of my favorites can be found at Landscape of Flavors at Art of Animation Resort. Their Breakfast Sandwich, at the sound of the name, doesn’t sound like anything out of the ordinary, but the mix of scrambled eggs, slab bacon, and topped with cheese sauce and chives tucked away in freshly made naan bread makes for an open-faced meal unlike others on property!

landscape-of-flavors-breakfast-sandwich-fillingLandscape of Flavors’ Breakfast Sandwich

Even Everything Pop, across Hourglass Lake from Art of Animation, at Pop Century has a few gems tucked away on its menu. For those that prefer a bit of sweetness with their breakfast, I recommend the Guava Pastry. But if you’re like me, you’ll want to head straight for the Empanada and the Spanish Quiche. The Empanada features Puff Pastry filled with Beef, Chorizo, Onions, and Spices, while the quiche is made up with Eggs, Plantains, Beef, Chorizo, Onion, Garlic, and Cumin. If you like a salty/sweet combo, go with the quiche!

everything-pop-empanada-crossEverything Pop’s Emapanada

everything-pop-spanish-quiche-crossEverything Pop’s Spanish Quiche

While I don’t hit the parks for rope drop, I do like the option of eating breakfast at them. They also tend to be the most difficult to find the more unique options to enjoy. Animal Kingdom’s Pizzafari surprised me with its Breakfast Panini, stacked high with ham, eggs whites, spinach, provolone and tomatoes. While very processed in its ingredients, it was a surprising change of pace that I’m glad I tried.

Pizzafari’s Breakfast Panini

If you ever happen to be at Magic Kingdom and Casey’s Corner is open for breakfast, be sure to stop in for the Sausage Breakfast Dog! Two breakfast sausage links are placed on a hot dog bun and topped with scrambled eggs, cheese sauce, and bacon. Yes, cheese sauce for breakfast! And better yet, it’s served with tots! This elusive breakfast spot is only open during peak times, so be sure to stop by early so you can beat the crowds to the popular attractions!

Casey’s Corner’s Sausage Breakfast Dog

Have you tried any of my favorite savory breakfast picks? Are there any that catch your eye? Is there one I’ve reviewed on the blog that didn’t make this list your favorite?

4 responses to “Favorite Savory Breakfasts at WDW

  1. You named our two favorites – The Wave and Kouzzina’s. The whole reason we tried The Wave was due to your reviews (yay you!).

  2. I once had the waffle omelet sandwich at Sleepy Hollow in the Magic Kingdom. I THINK they still serve it? Anyway, if you want a waffle but not the sugar, it’s pretty good!

  3. Nora – Yay! Those two are probably my tops, too! (Though I’ll certainly keep researching!)

    Jenn – I’ve only had the Chicken Waffle from there, but they’re only served from 11-5. I almost stopped by for one the other day! I’ll have to check during breakfast next time at MK, but I don’t recall seeing the omelet one last weekend (though I wasn’t really looking for it). 😉

  4. Pingback: Week in Review - September 9, 2013 | Rolling with the MagicRolling with the Magic