2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Greece

Greece is one of the Epcot International Food & Wine Festival kiosks that I always look forward to visiting. Last year’s menu was a bit underwhelming for me (primarily because one of my favorites, the Griddled Greek Cheese, was ill-prepared), but I’m glad they stepped up the offerings for this year.

2013-Epcot-food-wine-Greece-kiosk

2013-Epcot-food-wine-Greece-menu

The item that really stood out the most to me was the Taste of Greece, which features Grilled and Marinated Calamari, Htipiti, Eggplant Dip, Olives and Pita Bread.

2013-food-wine-greece-taste-of-greece

The calamari was very mild in flavor and wasn’t chewy at all. In fact, it was texturally, and I hate to say it, more along the lines of chicken. Members of my party were happy to take the pita bread and dip it into both the htipiti (the slightly orange dip is features feta and red peppers) and eggplant dip. I got the enjoy all the olives.

2013-food-wine-greece-taste-of-greece3

2013-food-wine-greece-taste-of-greece2

The Chicken Gyro is topped with Tzatziki Sauce, and wasn’t what I was anticipating. It received a new name since last year, when it was called the Chicken Souvlaki. Now, however, its also topped with shredded lettuce and diced tomatoes. When I read “gyro,” I was anticipating chicken gyro meat that is sliced from the vertical rotating spit, like what you’ll receive at Tangierine Cafe.

2013-food-wine-greece-chicken-gyro

Instead, this was once again grilled chicken breast. It was fine, but not what I was anticipating, so I gladly left its fate to the rest in my party. The lettuce and tomatoes really weren’t doing the dish any favors as the iceberg was rather flavorless and the tomatoes could have been better. They also really wanted to fall out of the pita when you tried to pick it up.

2013-food-wine-greece-chicken-gyro2

The Griddled Greek Cheese is served with Pistachios and Honey. When I ordered it last year, as I mentioned earlier, wasn’t well-prepared and served lukewarm. I was disappointed since I had loved it in 2011 and was hoping for a repeat. Well, I’m happy to report that I am back in love with the cheese again! While it didn’t have the crispy exterior from previous years, it was wonderfully melted, almost swimming in honey, and was given just enough pistachio for some crunch. This is another dish I’ll have to revisit before the festival closes out!

2013-food-wine-greece-griddled-greek-cheese2

2013-food-wine-greece-griddled-greek-cheese

While I haven’t ordered the Spanakopita yet this year, it’s always been a favorite of mine. Here’s a look at last year’s (taken at night with an iPhone since I didn’t want to bring the “real” camera out in the rain. ;)):

2012-fw-greece-spanakopita

I don’t know about you, but now I’m hungry! I still have a lot to share on the festival from last week, and will likely be getting more pics this weekend! Stay tuned, and let us know what your favorite dishes are from Greece!

2 responses to “2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Greece

  1. Do you think the griddled cheese would travel well? I’d be much oblige if you’d mail some my way. 😉

  2. It might receive some aging in the process. 🙂