2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Canada

One of the longest lines at the Epcot International Food & Wine Festival can be found at Canada, so this year, when we saw there were only a few people waiting, we jumped at the opportunity to get in line. But our eyes were not on the infamous Canadian Cheddar Cheese Soup; they were on the Seared Rainbow Trout. But we did end up getting a soup anyway just in case we needed a palate cleanser. 😉 (I don’t think I’ve ordered the soup here since 2007’s festival!)

2013-Epcot-food-wine-canada-kiosk

2013-Epcot-food-wine-canada-menu

Now as we’re mentioned before, Matt and I are not cooked fish people, and neither of us have had trout before. We were here to try new things, and this was certainly one of those items. The Seared Rainbow Trout is topped with Bacon, Frisee and Maple Minus 8 Vinaigrette.

2013-food-wine-canada-seared-rainbow-trout

We were happy to see several bits of well-rendered bacon sprinkling the dish. The fish itself was fairly hearty, but broke apart easily. It didn’t have as much of a “fishy” taste as I had anticipated, but I still can’t say I was a fan. I was able to take a small second bite, but now at least Matt and I know that trout isn’t one of the cooked fish we care for. Don’t worry, though – that bacon didn’t go to waste!

2013-food-wine-canada-seared-rainbow-trout2

While the trout wasn’t as fishy as we anticipated, we’re glad we ordered the Canadian Cheddar Cheese Soup. Though the price for the tiny cup is a bit crazy, the soup is pretty darn good, and it has been a long time since either of us have had it. We just don’t think it’s worth waiting in a long line for. Then again, we make pretty stellar cheese soup at home, so we don’t really miss it, either. 😉

2013-food-wine-canada-canadian-cheddar-cheese-soup

2013-food-wine-canada-canadian-cheddar-cheese-soup2

Last year, Matt ordered the “Le Cellier” Wild Mushroom Beef Filet Mignon with Truffle Butter Sauce, and it tasted better than it looked. The price has jumped $0.50, though, and I thought it was overpriced last year. Still, I imagine Matt wouldn’t mind ordering it again, as long as the line isn’t crazy.

2012-fw-canada-le-cellier-wild-mushroom-beef-filet-mignon-with-truffle-butter-sauce

Here’s a look at the La Face Neige Premiere Apple Ice Wine. I ordered this pour from the nearby Canada Beer Cart, but the beverage is currently not available at the location. It’s sweet and a bit heavy, but delicious. For a look at the current cart menu from September 26, you can see it here.

canada-beer-cart-neige-premiere-apple-ice-wine

We usually stop in Canada as long as there’s something new food-wise, and the Seared Rainbow Trout definitely got us in line. While it was far from a festival favorite, we’re glad we tried it, and got to enjoy the soup with virtually no wait. What will you be trying from Canada this year?

4 responses to “2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Canada

  1. I really think they ought to give you a pretzel roll with the cheddar cheese soup. It only seems right.

    That having been said… care to share your recipe? 😀

  2. I agree! I haven’t made pretzel bread at home for a while, but the weather is cooling here in Florida, so that time shall be coming soon! Matt actually likes to use the recipe from Le Cellier, at least as a base, when he cooks (we have it in a few Disney cookbooks at home), but we typically end up cutting back on the flour and dialing up the seasonings, or perhaps added hot sauces apart from Tabasco. I’m always on the lookout for cheese soup recipes to try that I find online at different food blogs, but again, we resort to really playing around with the ingredients. I think that’s the most fun; we can really tailor the recipe to what we’re in the mood for! Perhaps make it a bit thinner in the summer or thicker in the winter for a heartier dish. 🙂

  3. I guess I’m just odd, but I don’t get the crazy love for that Cheddar Cheese Soup. I’ve had it & while I think it’s good, I don’t think it’s worth all the hype that it gets. I’m certainly not going to pay what they want for that tiny sample size. Just my opinion though.

  4. You’re not odd – I feel the same way. I’m not waiting 30 minutes for that overpriced thimble of soup. 😉 The only reason we bought it this year is because there was no line and we needed a “chaser” in case we didn’t like the trout, haha! I’ve ordered the Chicken Chipotle Sausage dish they’ve had in the past, and the thought of ordering the soup didn’t even cross my mind! 🙂