2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Cheese

We’re pretty big fans of cheese here. Cheese is my favorite country at the Epcot International Food & Wine Festival. Not really, it’s just fun that Cheese is treated as a country. The should theme it more, like a huge, comical hunk of Swiss, and they serve you the cheese out of the holes. But I digress. We always stop at Cheese. While the Cheese Fondue in the past was disappointing to us (it was lukewarm and tasted heavily of wine), I was looking forward to not only my go-to Artisan Cheese Selection, but also the Almond-crusted Blue Cheese Souffle with Fig Jam.

20130929-155026.jpg

20130929-155036.jpg

The portion size of the Almond-crusted Blue Cheese Souffle with Fig Jam is quite large, and I was given a LOT of the fig jam. I wasn’t complaining about that though. 🙂

2013-food-wine-cheese-almond-crusted-blue-cheese-souffle-with-fig-jam

2013-food-wine-cheese-almond-crusted-blue-cheese-souffle-with-fig-jam2

As you can see, the cheese isn’t exactly “almond-crusted” per the description. Instead, slivered almonds could be found throughout. I bought this primarily for Matt, who loves blue cheese, but the amount of almonds, which he does not like, kept him from taking more than a few bites. I wasn’t crazy about the flavor nor the texture. We barely made it through half the dish before calling it quits.

2013-food-wine-cheese-almond-crusted-blue-cheese-souffle-with-fig-jam3

The Artisan Cheese Selection, on the other hand, was fantastic as usual.

2013-food-wine-cheese-artisan-cheese-selection
The La Bonne Vie Triple Creme Brie with Apricot Jam came in third place for both of us, but that’s still a high-ranking third! I love the creaminess of Brie, and while Matt typically doesn’t go for brie, he did like this one. And for being a goat cheese, this one isn’t too earthy. Last year, this cheese was served with Macerated Cherries, which were nice, but I liked it better with the Apricot Jam this year.

2013-food-wine-cheese-la-bonne-vie-triple-creme-brie-with-apricot-jam

We both enjoy the bold flavor of Beecher’s Flagship Reserve Cheddar served with Honey. It’s has a grassy note and a nice saltiness to it, cut by the sweetness of the honey. This is one we usually have to split 50/50. 😉

2013-food-wine-cheese-beechers-flagship-reserve-with-honey

The Wyngaard Goats Gouda with Craisin Bread was up there as a favorite with the cheddar. It too had a touch of grassiness, but not as much as the cheddar (which was still relatively mild). This was another 50/50 split for us.

2013-food-wine-cheese-artisan-cheese-selection-wyngaard-goats-gouda-with-craisin-bread

While the Almond-crusted Blue Cheese Souffle is not something we care to revisit, we’d love to hear what others think of it! The Artisan Cheese Selection will likely happen again as the festival goes on. Overall, I liked it more than last year’s, even with two cheeses being repeats (I definitely preferred the Goats Gouda over last year’s blue cheese selection). Which cheese is your favorite this year?

10 responses to “2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Cheese

  1. Can you describe what was wrong with the blue cheese soufflé taste? Is it strong or just odd? My son loves blue cheese ( and figs) but we’ve seen nothing good about this dish. I think we could live with the weird texture but we’re trying to pin down what’s off about the taste.

  2. Pingback: Week in Review - October 13, 2013 | Rolling with the MagicRolling with the Magic

  3. It’s like it’s overly eggy, and not blue cheesy enough, if that makes any sense. 🙂

  4. great post! I was trying to google wyngaard goat gouda after I visited the food and wine festival to see where I can buy it and came across your website. any ideas? or suggestions of maybe something similar that I can find in a grocery store?

    Thanks!

  5. I’m far from a cheese aficionado, so you best bet would be to visit a market with a good cheese selection (perhaps Whole Foods) and talk to the employee. Perhaps they have the cheese or have something similar in stock. Otherwise I would imagine ordering it online would be the next best bet! 🙂

  6. I found the fondue overly winey last year as well 🙂

  7. I also seem to remember the potatoes it was served with being cold…

  8. Definitely NOT a fan of the blue cheese souffle

  9. Scott – I was really hoping for something more. I think I would have preferred the Cheese Fondue again, even though it wasn’t very good when I had it a few years back.

  10. A little adjustment such as coarsely ground almonds top, bottom and sides with treasure cave blue cheese, could be a nice party dissh