2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Desserts & Champagne

While I’m not big on sweets and desserts, I was looking forward to trying the Dessert Trio from Desserts & Champagne during the Epcot International Food & Wine Festival. I enjoyed last year’s trio, with each dessert being delicious in its own right. The $4 price tag is a great value for the three mini desserts (you’re saving $1.25 over the individual desserts as well), and if there’s one I don’t particularly care for, I don’t feel bad if I don’t finish it.

2013-Epcot-food-wine-desserts-champagne-kiosk

2013-Epcot-food-wine-desserts-champagne-menu

The Dessert Trio features a Chocolate Orange Cupcake, Hazelnut Chocolate Cheesecake, and Morello Cherry Pistachio Mousse.

2013-food-wine-desserts-and-champagne-dessert-trio

The Chocolate Orange Cupcake is exactly how it sounds. It had an orange hint and was fine for a cupcake (and I like the combination of orange and chocolate), but it was… still a cupcake.

2013-food-wine-desserts-and-champagne-chocolate-orange-cupcake

I thought the Morello Cherry Pistachio Mousse would be a favorite of mine, but it fell a bit short of my expectations despite its pleasing aesthetic. I was hoping for more pistachio flavor, or perhaps some crunch from actual pistachios, but the cherry was the dominant flavor.

2013-food-wine-desserts-and-champagne-morello-cherry-pistachio-mousse

I did love the cherries at the bottom of the dessert, though. I ended up digging around the bottom for them.

2013-food-wine-desserts-and-champagne-morello-cherry-pistachio-mousse2

My favorite by a wide margin was the Hazelnut Chocolate Cheesecake. The chocolate wasn’t overpowering, and I loved the graham cracker crunch found at the bottom.

2013-food-wine-desserts-and-champagne-hazelbut-chocolate-cheesecake

It’s texture wasn’t as dense as I was anticipating for a cheesecake, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

2013-food-wine-desserts-and-champagne-hazelbut-chocolate-cheesecake2
While I appreciated each dessert to some degree, I was more impressed overall last year by the flavors. Still, I would get back in line at least for the Hazelnut Chocolate Cheesecake here. Are you going to opt for the Dessert Trio this year?

Comments are closed.