2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Australia

Australia has long been a top pick for both Matt and myself during the Epcot International Food & Wine Festival. Matt always orders the lamb dish, and I often order the shrimp. This year, however it was the Pavlova that caught my attention, replacing the former Lamington dessert.

20130929-154738.jpg

20130929-154755.jpg

The Pavlova is a Crispy Meringue Shell with fresh Driscoll’s Berries and Vanilla Custard. We had just grabbed a fork to tackle this dish, but we really could have used a knife to get through the meringue – it was very firm and crumbled as we tried to dig in. I enjoyed that it wasn’t overly sweet, and the berries were fantastic.

2013-food-wine-australia-pavlovaAnother win for me on this dish was the custard. It reminded me of a tapioca to some degree, and was just sweet enough. I loved how this dessert didn’t feel heavy.

2013-food-wine-australia-pavlova2

While we’ve yet to order it this year, we enjoyed the Grilled Lamb Chop with Mint Pesto and Potato Crunchies in 2012 and will almost certainly revisit. I’m still looking forward to the Garlic Shrimp, as the past shrimp dishes at Australia have been delicious. We’ll post an update here and let you know when we do!

2012-fw-australia-grilled-lamb-chop-with-mint-pesto-and-potato-crunchies

Which is your favorite item to order from Australia? Have you tried the new shrimp preparation or the Pavlova? Let us know in the comments!

UPDATE!

We headed back another evening for Food & Wine for the Grilled Lamb Chop with Mint Pesto and Potato Crunchies and the Garlic Shrimp with Roasted Tomatoes, Lemon Myrtle and Rapini!

The Grilled Lamb Chop was virtually identical to last year’s, and was cooked about the same (slightly overdone), but tender. Matt was happy to have it again this year, and I enjoyed the brightness of the pesto.

2013-food-wine-australia-grilled-lamb-chop

2013-food-wine-australia-grilled-lamb-chop2

The Garlic Shrimp was heavy on the garlic. Heavy. Look at all that garlic! Fortunately, I love garlic, and Matt and I have been together for a long time. I would not have wanted to eat this on a date! The shrimp, much like the lamb, was slightly overdone and didn’t want to release its tail from the shell. The rapini was a nice touch as a vegetable addition. Had the shrimp been better cooked, I would have enjoyed the dish more, but I prefer the Shrimp on the Barbie with Pepper Berry Citrus Glaze from previous years better.

2013-food-wine-australia-garlic-shrimp

2013-food-wine-australia-garlic-shrimp2

6 responses to “2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Australia

  1. We had the garlic shrimp and they were cooked very well with great flavor.

  2. I’ll likely be ordering it tonight! 🙂

  3. I hope that you liked it!

  4. Wow, our pavlova looked nothing like that. They totally loaded you up on custard! We really liked it anyway. 🙂

  5. I loved that custard! It was “preview” day so they tend to be a bit more generous. 😉

  6. Ah, the joys of living near Orlando. 🙂