2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Mexico

Mexico has been a must-visit kiosk for me at the Epcot International Food & Wine Festival. I fell in love with their Shrimp Taco and the Lime Strawberry Margarita a couple years ago, and while the margarita has been replaced this year with a Mango-Habanero option, I was looking forward to trying the change.

20130929-154803.jpg

20130929-154810.jpg

We also wanted to try the Taco de Rib-Eye with Salsa de Chipotle, as we always order the steak option as well. One thing I’m happy to report is that the added scallions are chopped this year! No more trying to tear through with your teeth!

2013-food-wine-mexico-taco-de-rib-eye

The taco featured a good amount of rib-eye, and the salsa de chipotle did indeed have some heat that built alongside a slightly smoky flavor. There were a few grisly pieces, but otherwise was an well-enjoyed taco.

2013-food-wine-mexico-taco-de-rib-eye2

My favorite has been the Shrimp Taco with purple cabbage, but it fell a bit short of my expectations this year. The shrimp itself didn’t seem as crunchy as in years past, and the serving temperature seemed like it had been sitting for a while. I’ve seen some long lines in Mexico in previous years, and they had several tacos of both varieties prepared and waiting for what I imagine was anticipation of longer lines.

2013-food-wine-mexico-shrimp-taco

Despite not being quite what I’d hoped, I still liked the flavor, and I’m sure it was just a fluke that they were over-prepared (it was quite busy on the evening I ordered, after all).

2013-food-wine-mexico-shrimp-taco2

The Mango-Habanero Margarita was pretty good, but I will say I prefer the Lime Strawberry version of past years. The cocktail did have a bit of kick that hit in the back of the throat, but I didn’t feel it was overpowering. The mango flavor was light, and you could taste some of the habanero, so it wasn’t pure heat. I wouldn’t say that it’s a “must-order again” for me, but I wouldn’t be opposed to ordering it if I was in line anyway and in the mood for a margarita. 🙂

2013-food-wine-mexico-mango-habanero-margarita

2013-food-wine-mexico-mango-habanero-margarita2

While I didn’t try the tequila flight, here’s a look at the offerings: Exotico Tequila Blanco, Piedra Azul Reposado, and El Ultimo Agave Reposado.

2013-food-wine-mexico-tequila-flight

While Mexico may not have been quite up to my expectations based on years past, it was still very good, and there’s no doubt I would return. I’d probably opt for the Taco de Rib-Eye myself on a second visit, and perhaps another Mango-Habanero Margarita if I’m not in the mood for a Dos Equis.

Which items are your favorite from Mexico? Let us know in the comments!

2 responses to “2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Mexico

  1. We tried both the ribeye and the shrimp taco and both were good. Our shrimp was cooked very well, but I didn’t see several waiting to be served the way you did so I’d bet that had something to do with the freshness of your taco.

  2. Definitely – I know that the past few years that wasn’t the case since I’d have to wait sometimes for one to be ready.