2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Italy

I have mixed emotions about the Italy kiosk at the Epcot International Food & Wine Festival. Don’t get me wrong; I’ve not had a bad experience. I’ve just yet to be “wowed” by something; I feel like I could easily replicate it at home. It also doesn’t help that Tutto Gusto is right around the corner, and I can take the $10 or so I’d spend on a couple items here and put it towards some charcuterie and cheese instead. 😉

20130929-155146.jpg

20130929-155154.jpg

That being said, the items served are substantial and have a fine flavor. I was pleased with the Saliccia e “Papacelli” Napoletani last year, and would otherwise not be opposed to reordering it.

2012-italy-saliccia-e-papacelli-napoletani

The same can be said about the Ravioli di Formaggio all’Emiliana. Beefy, cheese smothered pasta is always a comfort food!

2011-italy-ravioli-di-formaggio-all-emiliana

Believe it or not, I have yet to order a dessert here. The Cannoli al Cioccolato is certainly on the radar, so I’ll keep you posted if I give it a try and will update this page. I have seen the festival item, and it doesn’t quite compare to what is found inside Tutto Gusto. Just sayin’… 😉

tutto-gusto-torta-di-nocciole-cortemilia-and-cannoli

Is Italy a must-stop for you during Food & Wine? I know some of our Italian readers will have a few things to say. 😉 See you in the comments!

2 responses to “2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Italy

  1. I agree with you completely. Both entree dishes offered in Italy were perfectly acceptable, but neither of them really blew me away. What’s not to love about cheesy pasta and italian sausage? I need more from them before this booth cracks my top 5 though.

  2. I make sausage with peppers and onions at home a lot. I can feed the two of us dinner and have leftovers for two lunches for the same price as that one dish! 🙂