2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Germany

In Germany, you can typically find the same menu (with different names and minor tweaks) year after year: A gratin with ham and cheese, a sausage in a pretzel roll, and apple strudel, all of which are perfectly fine. I remember in 2011 when they changed things up a bit and offered a delicious Goulash Soup. Crazy!

20130929-155044.jpg

I was wondering if some of the items served at the Bauernmarkt kiosk during Flower & Garden would make their way onto the menu (let’s face it, I did that with basically every kiosk during F&G! ;)), but they did not, and Germany stuck with that they knew: A gratin with ham and cheese, a sausage in a pretzel roll, and apple strudel.

20130929-155055.jpg

Last year, the Schinkennudeln (then called Schinken Nudel) was quite salty to me. I’m not sure I’ll reorder it, but it’s very likely the heavy salt was a fluke. I think I’m kind of hesitant to reorder it primarily because of a recent aversion to eggs (primarily the scrambled variety; egg salad sounds kind of good) I’ve been having. I think I’ve been eating to much of it (breakfast posts here on the blog) and got sick of it. Pray that never happens with bacon. But I digress.

2012-fw-germany-schinken-nudel

It’s been a long time since we’ve ordered the Apple Strudel (like, 2010  night-time iPhone photography old). It’s certainly in play for this year still, if nothing else at least for a decent photo! 😉

2010 Apfel Strudel

I’m surprised that I don’t have a photo of the Roast Bratwurst in a Pretzel Roll! Well, guess I’ll be getting on line for research soon. Might as well order that Apple Strudel while I’m at it! I’ll keep you posted to any updates to the page. 😉

In the meantime, let us know what you’re favorite item to order is in Germany!

UPDATE!

We headed back to Germany so I could get some fresh pictures! First up is the Roast Bratwurst in a Pretzel Roll. This is usually a guest favorite in part because of the Pretzel Roll, which are also served inside Germany’s buffet restaurant, Biergarten. The bratwurst is sizable and has some nice caramelization and a bit of snap. The mustard also provides a slightly spicy kick. I’d love to see this served with some sauerkraut as well.

2013-food-wine-germany-roast-bratwurst

2013-food-wine-germany-roast-bratwurst2

2013-food-wine-germany-roast-bratwurst3

The Apple Strudel is topped with Werther’s Original Karamel and Vanilla Sauce, and the presentation has vastly improved since we last ordered it! The apples are tender with a hint of cinnamon, and golden raisins are found tucked inside as well. The sauces add a bit more sweetness and additional layer of flavor that makes this dessert stand apart from many other desserts found at Food & Wine.

2013-food-wine-germany-apple-strudel

2013-food-wine-germany-apple-strudel2

While we didn’t order it this year, here’s a look at the Schinkennudeln. It looks identical to last year’s version.

2013-food-wine-germany-schinkennudeln

2 responses to “2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Germany

  1. The Schinkennudeln was good. Tasted like fluffy macaroni and cheese to me. I know that sounds odd. I’d order it again though.

  2. It might be worth another try for me. We’ll see!