2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Morocco

I love the Morocco pavilion at Epcot. Strolling through the shops or the small museum, dining at Restaurant Marrakesh or Tangierine Cafe, even the 2012 Flower and Garden Taste of Marrakesh kiosk impressed me. I hoped that some of the inspiration on its menu would return during the Epcot Food & Wine Festival. Unfortunately, that was not the case, and I was left disappointed without even having to order the food being offered.

20130929-155330.jpg

20130929-155337.jpg

You see, every year, I order something from Morocco. Last year, it was a much anticipated item for me, the Merguez Sausage, and I wasn’t too thrilled by it. The Kefta Pocket (Ground-seasoned Beef in a Pita Pocket) from my past was virtually an unseasoned ground beef patty stuffed into a dry pita pocket.

2011-morocco-kefta-pocket

2011-morocco-kefta-pocket-interior

The Harissa Chicken Roll (Chicken, Roasted Corn, Cilantro, Harissa and Cheese) tasted no different to me than a Southwestern Eggroll from Chili’s. I even asked a few friends if they thought it tasted that way, and they agreed. (Now if you’re into those things, that’s fine. It’s simply not what I expect when I hear “Harissa Chicken Roll,” even with ingredients like roasted corn and cilantro. I anticipate harissa.) The Sangria is nothing special either.

2011-morocco-harissa-chicken-roll-and-sangria

2011-morocco-harissa-chicken-roll-interior

As for the Baklava, it’s probably your best bet. But instead of the triangular sample from the kiosk, head to the back of Tangierine Cafe where they serve coffee and pastries. There, you will find this pretty little version, in your choice of Walnut, Pistachio, or Cashew. And when I bought it this past February it cost only $.04 more than the sample at the kiosk.

tangierine-cafe-cashew-baklava-cross

For me, the Morocco kiosk has become much like cooked fish at the festival: Why would I want to spend my money on something that’s been notoriously disappointing when I could take a chance on something new or order something I know I’ll like? I hate to sound like a Negative Nelly, because I’m not trying to be. If there were something new on the menu, I’d certainly give it a try, just like last year. I just have little desire to give items I’ve been burned on a second or third chance.

If these are flavors that are new to you and you don’t have access to them where you live, then the price tag is probably worth the chance. That’s the point of F&W; trying new things. I will suggest that, if you plan on spending $10 or so here, that you might want to put that money toward a Lamb, Chicken or Falafel Wrap inside Tangierine Cafe, where you will also receive sides of their Couscous and Lentil Salads. Just a suggestion. 🙂

4 responses to “2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Morocco

  1. I agree. I felt the chicken roll was like frozen from a box item.
    I have had some of the best Epcot food in Morroco.
    I don’t understand why those flavors aren’t represented well at the booth.
    My review is here.
    http://www.wdwfanzone.com/2013/10/food-wine-food-booth-review-with-photos/

  2. Ditto! I love Tangierine Cafe and Marrakesh, so having the F&W booth not properly represent those flavors makes me sad.

  3. The baklava was good. Not the best I’ve ever had, but good. I never knew about the rolled version. I’ll definitely check that out in February.

  4. Yes, definitely check out the baklava at Tangierine Cafe! I should order the F&W version as comparison.