2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Poland

Poland’s kiosk at the Epcot Food & Wine Festival is one that I’ve often visited over the years, simply because so many of the foods were familiar and comfort food-esque items for me growing up. I’d always order the Golabki and the Kielbasa and Potato Pierogi, even though “homemade tastes sooo much better” because, let’s face it, I’m not going to eat an 9″ x 11″ tray of golabki on my own (Matt doesn’t like the cabbage), and the hours of labor that go into pierogies just isn’t feasible, even if I were to freeze the army’s worth that I’d inevitably end up making.

20130929-155127.jpg

20130929-155139.jpg

Last year, a new item was introduced: Zapiekanki. It was completely new to me, and I truly enjoyed it. I have yet to order it this year, but it will be happening, along with the Frozen Szarlotka. I’ll update this page when that happens and let you know how everything is. 😉

2012-fw-poland-zapiekanki

2012-fw-poland-zapiekanki-close

And while I likely won’t place an order for the Kielbasa and Potato Pierogi, I’m pretty confident in recommending the dish, especially if you’ve never had a pierogi before. It might not be “as good as homemade,” but it’s still a delicious food.

2010 Kielbasa and Potato Pierogie with Caramelized Onions and Sour Cream

Which items from Poland do you like to order? Let us know!

UPDATE!

We went back and tried the Frozen Szarlotka (Apple Pie) cocktail featuring Żubrówka Bison Grass Vodka. In the past, Poland has offered some interesting cocktails, and this year is no exception. The frozen concoction doesn’t disappoint with its crisp apple flavor with a hint of cinnamon. It reminded me of a bowl of homemade applesauce. The vodka was well hidden in the drink, making it very smooth (a far cry from the Singapore Sling!) to drink. The heat had the drink melting at a pretty rapid pace, so I found myself drinking it a bit faster than I would have like to ($8.25 is a bit steep for the size when you don’t get to savor it). Still, it was very enjoyable and I’d happily reorder during the festival.

2013-food-wine-poland-frozen-szarlotka

2013-food-wine-poland-frozen-szarlotka2

6 responses to “2013 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival: Poland

  1. The pierogi was good, but I’ve never had homemade, so perhaps I’m missing out.

  2. Pierogies are a Christmas Eve tradition for me. If I EVER need a shortcut approach because I’m craving them, I’m not ashamed to buy a box of Mrs. T’s Potato and Cheddar! 😉

  3. I do enjoy the Mrs. T’s. Those are the only ones I’ve ever had. Can I come over for Christmas and try your homemade ones? 🙂

  4. It used to be a family operation in my grandmother’s kitchen! Everyone was put to work in some fashion.

  5. When we lived in upstate NY, I discovered Mrs. T’s in the freezer area… Potato and Cheddar with some caramelized onions or simply with sour cream! Haven’t had them in years & I’ve been a bit disappointed in the ones at the Food & Wine Festival

  6. Yes! Frozen applesauce – perfect description. I really liked the Szarlotka – awesome addition.