Top Picks from Epcot International Food & Wine Festival

20130929-154138.jpg

Matt and I were discussing what our favorite items from Food & Wine were. We both enjoyed a lot of the same items, but we have very differing Top Fives. We went ahead and ranked them, along with a favorite drink from the festival as an added bonus. So without further ado, let’s take a look!

Matt’s Top Five

2013-food-wine-japan-teriyaki-chicken-hand-roll5: Japan: Teriyaki Chicken Hand Roll

If the word “teriyaki” is in it, chances are he will order it. And love it.

2013-food-wine-hawaii-kalua-pork-slider4: Hawai’i: Kalua Pork Slider

The man loves pulled pork, so he can pick up my slack on that. I’m always on the lookout for that one that will wow me, though!

2013-food-wine-florida-local-florida-grass-fed-beef-slider23. Florida Local: Grass Fed Beef Slider

Despite being overcooked and on the dry side, he really liked the overall flavor.

2013-food-wine-china-mongolian-beef-in-a-steamed-bun2. China: Mongolian Beef in a Steamed Bun

A favorite from last year, and I doubt he’s done ordering it this year.

2013-food-wine-belgium-potato-leek-waffle1. Belgium: Potato and Leek Waffle

Matt LOVES stews and waffles. Combine them? He’s in heaven.

Favorite drink:

2013-food-wine-brewers-collection-beer-flight-1Upper Right, Brewer’s Collection: Schofferhofer Grapefruit

He’s ordered that one a lot.

Sarah’s Top Five

I wish I could be as decisive as Matt. I always struggle with picking favorites, especially since I want to pick all new stuff, but here we go. This list is subject to change. 😉

2013-food-wine-greece-griddled-greek-cheese25. Greece: Griddled Greek Cheese

2011 made me fall in love, 2012 made me sad, 2013 and we’re back!

2013-food-wine-france-escargot-persillade-en-brioche4. France: Escargot Persillade en Brioche

It’s a must-have every year, and I’ve never been disappointed.

2013-food-wine-brazil-crispy-pork-belly3. Brazil: Crispy Pork Belly

Yes, it’s incredibly trendy right now. Yes, I’ve had it better prepared in the last month on WDW property at two different events (Cranberry Bog and Food & Wine Classic). But I’m still probably going to order this again before the end of the festival.

2013-food-wine-south-korea-kimchi-dog2. South Korea: Kimchi Dog

I ordered it a second time and didn’t even take a picture. Matt’s jaw dropped. I ordered eatin’ food!

2013-food-wine-new-zealand-venison-sausage1. New Zealand: Venison Sausage

Drop the mic.

And just because I love this pic and they were amazing, New Zealand’s Steamed Green Lip Mussels:

2013-food-wine-new-zealand-steamed-green-lip-mussels2My precioussssss…

Favorite Drink:

2013-food-wine-poland-frozen-szarlotkaPoland’s Frozen Szarlotka

Like alcoholic apple pie you can drink. You’re welcome.

So there you have it! We don’t have one thing in common, and not on purpose! I have a feeling he might want to add that venison to his list after he reads this. I think it could unseat the Slider or even the Hand Roll. Now I’m hungry. And wanting to head over to Epcot. Thank goodness tomorrow is the weekend!

Let us know YOUR Top Five picks in the comments below!

7 responses to “Top Picks from Epcot International Food & Wine Festival

  1. the mussels shot IS gorgeous

  2. Thank you so much! 😀

  3. 5- China- Black Pepper Shrimp with sichuan Noodles
    4- Canada – Wild Mushroom Beef Filet with Truffle Butter
    3-Singapore -Seared Mahi With Jasmine Rice
    2- S.Korea Kimchi Dog
    1-Australia -Garlic Shrimp with Roasted Tomatoes lemon Myrtle and Rapini

  4. Glad to be seeing some love for the Kimchi Dog!

  5. This is an extremely tough challenge because so many things were really good, but my top 5 is:

    5 – Japan: Teriyaki Chicken Hand Roll
    4 – Florida Local: Florida Grass-fed Beef Slider
    3 – Italy: Ravioli di Formaggio all’Emiliana
    2 – France: Escargots Persillade en Brioche
    1 – South Korea: Kimchi Dog

    That was a tough thing to do. #1 and #2 could be interchangeable almost. Ask me again another day and I’d probably rank them differently.

  6. eat local orlando

    Great list and pics, thank you. Griddled cheese, venison sausage and mongolian beef are on my list now

  7. Thank you! Have a great time!!