Earl of Sandwich’s Hawaiian BBQ

We’re continuing our 2013 Eat Each Sandwich Challenge that Nora & Nick of Extra WDW Magic thought up (#2013eateachsandwich)! Today, we’re having the Hawaiian BBQ.

We’re closing in on the home stretch of the last few sandwiches for the Challenge! Earl of Sandwich’s Hawaiian BBQ Sandwich is comprised of Grilled chicken, ham, Swiss, pineapple & Hawaiian BBQ sauce, which together make for a hearty sandwich.

earl-of-sandwich-hawaiian-bbq-wrapped

Upon opening the wrapper, the sweet smell of the pineapple and spice from the BBQ are prominent.

earl-of-sandwich-hawaiian-bbq

The sandwich is certainly a messy one, loaded with juice from the pineapple and copious amount of the BBQ sauce. The Swiss seemed to get lost in the sandwich with so many other prominent flavors on board. My first bite was primarily of ham, with the pineapple and sauce quickly taking over my palate. I didn’t seem to get much from the chicken other than it being there more for texture.

earl-of-sandwich-hawaiian-bbq-cross

While the sandwich wasn’t bad, Matt ended up finishing this one at home. I think I’m just not a fan of pineapple on sandwiches. I think I would have liked this one more without its inclusion, and I want to order this sandwich in the future, I’ll make a request to hold the fruit.

Only five sandwiches left, with two I’ve never ordered before and are very simple: The Ham ‘N’ Swiss and the Kids Turkey ‘N’ Swiss. Time to wrap these up before the end of the year! 🙂

Challenge Checklist

Limited Time Only: Holiday Ham
Limited Time Only: Avocado BLT
Limited Time Only: Pastrami Reuben
Limited Time Only: BBQ Pork Sandwich
Limited Time Only: Cuban Sandwich
Limited Time Only: Chicken Pesto Pomodoro

The Original 1762
The Earl’s Club
All American
Italian*
The Full Montagu
Cannonballs!
Tuna Melt
Chipotle Chicken Avocado (former Limited Time Only offering)*
Hawaiian BBQ
Ham ‘n’ Swiss
Holiday Turkey (former Limited Time Only offering)*
Caprese
Caribbean Jerk Chicken
Best BLT*
Any other “Limited Time Only” offerings throughout the year*

Breakfast:

Egg ‘N’ Cheddar
Bacon, Egg ‘N’ Cheddar*
Ham, Egg ‘N’ Cheddar
Ham ‘N’ Swiss
Breakfast BLT*

Kids:

Pizza Sandwich
Grilled Cheese
Turkey ‘N’ Swiss

*Past Reviews

Chipotle Chicken Avocado
Holiday Turkey
Italian
Limited Time Only: French Dip
Best BLT
Breakfast Bacon, Egg ‘n’ Cheddar
Breakfast BLT

6 responses to “Earl of Sandwich’s Hawaiian BBQ

  1. I JUST tried this sandwich and will be reviewing it myself in the coming months! I had the same issue with the chicken – I didn’t even notice it was in there until I read the description on the menu!

  2. Exactly! With all the other flavors going on, it’s easy to miss!

  3. Before I finally tried the holiday turkey sandwich, this was my favorite. I’m a sucker for ham and pineapple though.

  4. I’m definitely more traditional in my sandwich preferences. 🙂

  5. i love your blog! (esp because you review earl of sandwich a LOT!) I wish i could remember two years ago what i ordered there. but this looks pretty good. (i love pineapple) But i think when we go this summer i’ll stick with the italian you reviewed! …I also love that you don’t sugarcoat everything like other people do. if it’s not good, it’s not good.

  6. Thank you so much for the kind words, Kristin! It really means a lot to me when readers appreciated my honesty. I had a great time trying each sandwich on the menu last year for the Challenge our friends at extrawdwmagic.com took on! There are really so many great choices, and I was grateful for Matt helping out, especially with sandwiches that weren’t quite my style. 😀 I’m hope you enjoy whichever sandwich you end up ordering this summer! The mood for a different sandwich might strike when you’re there – you never know! 🙂