Big River Grille & Brewing Works’ Winter Tartan Scottish Ale

A couple weeks ago, Big River Grille and Brewing Works announced a Tapping Party for their Winter Tartan Scottish Ale. While we couldn’t attend the party, we did stop by the following weekend to give the brew a try. The bartender gladly offered us a small taste before we decided if we wanted to order the full pour.

big-river-grille-winter-tartan-scottish-ale

The Winter Tartan Scottish Ale is described as “a traditional Scottish ale with a smooth, malty flavor and a hint of vanilla.” It was definitely malty, slightly sweet, and I could taste the hint of vanilla. Matt ordered a full glass to enjoy, but I didn’t think I would be able to drink a whole glass of it. Instead, I ordered the Big River IPA.

Note: According to the bartender, this brew should be available for “another 2 or 3 weeks” as of December 7th, so you’ll have to act relatively fast before the beer is no more.

big-river-grille-ipa-tap

If you’ve been reading the blog for a while, you may have picked up that I’m a fan of IPAs. Big River’s was no exception. It was bold in its hoppiness which lent itself well to a “sit back and relax” beer so savor.

big-river-grille-ipa

Fans of trying new and seasonal beer flavors will likely enjoy the Winter Tartan Scottish Ale. It has a rich flavor and is fairly smooth; definitely a cold weather beer, and we’ve been seeing our fair share of that in Central Florida lately! If you prefer IPAs, Big River’s fits the bill nicely. If you’re looking to try the former, I recommend stopping by sooner rather than later!

4 responses to “Big River Grille & Brewing Works’ Winter Tartan Scottish Ale

  1. YAY! I’m glad Matt liked it. It’s actually a little less sweet than last year, so I’m glad you didn’t try it then! 😉

  2. Still a good brew! It was a hot day, so coming in from the heat probably didn’t help me in thoroughly enjoying it and wanting a full glass of my own. 😉

  3. I wish these had these lonnnnnnnnnnnger.

  4. I know you do! Are there no Gordon Biersch family restaurants around you (though you’re likely to have some awesome brewhaus locations nearby)?