Candy Cauldron’s Fruit Kebab

I often poke my head into Goofy’s Candy Company, Candy Cauldron, and other confectioneries on property to see if there’s anything that catches my eye. It’s usually the same candy apples, fudge, cake pops and such. And while I’m not sure if this is exactly new, it certainly grabbed my attention when I stopped by Candy Cauldron at Downtown Disney’s West Side. I asked the Cast Member what this object was. It was nestled between other chocolate covered fruits, but its label was turned around. She told me it was a Fruit Kebab and contained grapes, pineapple, and strawberry. I was sold!

candy-cauldron-fruit-kebab

A while back, I tried the Chocolate and Caramel Covered Grapes from Karamell-Küche in Epcot and really liked them. And of course, Chocolate Dipped Strawberries are a classic. I’ve been wanting to try the chocolate dipped pineapple spears I’ve seen around, but was afraid it might be too sweet for me to eat a whole spear (especially if the pineapple was particularly sweet).

Three large, green grapes nestle both a piece of pineapple and strawberry between them. I liked how the layer of chocolate coating the fruit was relatively thin, allowing the flavor of the fruit to really come forward. Like before, I really enjoyed the slightly tart grape and chocolate combo.

candy-cauldron-fruit-kebab-grape

The pineapple itself was fairly sweet with a touch of acidic pucker. While I did like the piece I tried on this kebab, I’m not sure if I could indeed eat a whole spear.

candy-cauldron-fruit-kebab-pineapple

Finally, the strawberry. The strawberry, though vibrant in color, didn’t have a lot of natural sweetness to it. It did have a strong berry flavor, though, and the chocolate naturally paired as expected.

candy-cauldron-fruit-kebab-strawberry

I know I could eat a whole skewer of the chocolate covered grapes, but the entire pineapple version would be a bit of a struggle, especially with a sweet piece of the fruit. This kebab nicely breaks up the treat in terms of flavor and texture, keeping each bite a bit different and interesting. It’s certainly one I could order again.

Which is your favorite chocolate dipped fruit at Disney?

6 responses to “Candy Cauldron’s Fruit Kebab

  1. Grapes are evil. Evil! THE KEBAB IS RUINED.

  2. No! I love grapes! At least you can still get just a pineapple spear or chocolate covered strawberries! 🙂

  3. I actually don’t think I’ve ever had a chocolate-covered grape, and I think it sounds delightful.

  4. They pair very well to me! 🙂

  5. How about a chocolate dipped dole whip …that’s fruit right?

  6. They could put that Magic Shell stuff on it! 🙂