Beaches & Cream Soda Shop’s Beaches Rachel Sandwich

It had been some time since my last visit to Beaches & Cream at the Beach Club Resort, and I had been wanting to return. There had been a Rachel Sandwich I had contemplated ordering last time, but I opted for the Grilled Cheese and Tomato Bisque instead (which was en excellent choice).

beaches-and-cream-menu-1-9-29-12

beaches-and-cream-interior

I arrived a few minutes after opening to ensure a seat, as this restaurant is relatively small and fills up quickly. While there is bar seating available to guests, you still must check in at the podium and be seated there. It’s not a first-come, first-serve situation like the Tune-In Lounge at Hollywood Studios.

beaches-and-cream-bar-seating

I think there was only one server working the restaurant when I arrived, and goodness knows she was busting her bum running around, so it took a solid 5+ minutes before she was able to get to me. There was what appeared to be a manager standing in the corner, a cast member working the grill, and and attendant that works only the ice cream to-go register, but there seemed to be no relief until noon, when another server, cook, and attendant seemed to arrived. There were also two cast members working the podium out front. I placed my order for Beaches Rachel Sandwich, and was given the offer of fries or onion rings. As you can see, I opted for the latter.

beaches-and-cream-beaches-rachel-sandwich

The Rachel features Griddled Pastrami on Marble Rye with Sauerkraut, Arugula, Swiss, and Peppercorn-Russian Dressing. It arrived piping hot, and the griddling of the pastrami really helped all the elements inside the sandwich come together. The meat wasn’t too fatty, and the cheese melted well. The sauerkraut was a bit on the bland side, and the dressing didn’t have too much peppercorn flavor to it. The arugula was lost on the sandwich and didn’t really bring anything to the plate with the exception of a pop of color. Overall, it’s an okay sandwich and I’d be fine ordering it again, but it’s not something I’d go out of my way for.

beaches-and-cream-beaches-rachel-sandwich-2

The onion rings weren’t very good. I don’t know if it was just a fluke as I’ve not had the onion rings here before to compare, but they weren’t cooked properly. They had a lot of moisture to them, as if the onions had released a lot of water while cooking. At first I thought it was grease when I bit into one, but there was no oily residue as I chewed. Hopefully it was indeed a fluke, but if this is how they normally are served, I’d go for the fries on a future visit.

beaches-and-cream-beaches-rachel-sandwich-onion-rings

beaches-and-cream-menu-1-21514

beaches-and-cream-menu-2-21514

beaches-and-cream-menu-3-21514

beaches-and-cream-menu-4-21514

My lunch took a little over an hour, which, while I wasn’t in a rush, seemed a bit long for the restaurant. The server was apologetic and thanked me for my patience as I left, but it certainly was out of her control. She was definitely working hard to be attentive to everyone! I’ll gladly return in the future, but I’ll be sure to plan plenty of time, just in case. And maybe next time I’ll have Matt with me so we can order dessert. 😉

2 responses to “Beaches & Cream Soda Shop’s Beaches Rachel Sandwich

  1. Our recent trip was extended two days due to bad weather at home, and we almost booked a lunch here but I just couldn’t pull the trigger. It seemed sort of “boring” with burgers and hot dogs. Am I wrong about that?

  2. I think people really go there more for the desserts than the food, especially the Kitchen Sink (there were two during the time I was there – one family finishing it and one was receiving theirs!). I think if you’re looking for the atmosphere (and a better menu) that 50’s Prime Time Cafe at Hollywood Studios is a better option.