Snacks from Japan: Calbee Bejitaberu

Our “Snacks from…” series treats you to different snacks found in the World Showcase pavilions at Epcot. Find more reviews here! Continuing our series, we head to Mitsukoshi in the Japan Pavilion!

One of our favorite, go-to snacks from Japan is Calbee’s Sapporo Potato Pebbly Vegetable. This crunchy, savory snack has been a staple in the pavilion for years, and it often makes its way into our shopping basket. When I spotted this package from Calbee with its cute, happy veggie characters on it, it caught my attention.

calbee-bean-snack-bejitaberu

calbee-bean-snack-bejitaberu-2

With a similar ingredient list to Pebbly with shapes in a different format, I couldn’t wait to get home to open up the bag. My anticipation was a light and crispy snack with a balanced amount of salt for the potato-y, slightly onion-y snack.

calbee-bean-snack-bejitaberu-nutrition-ingredients

The waffle-patterned crisps were indeed light, airy and had the light crunch I anticipated, but that was where the similarities ended. They were fine for mindless crunching, but flavor-wise, they were lacking that umami punch, landing themselves on the bland side. Matt took to them more than I, but if I’m picking up a bag of Calbee vegetable-infused (with no nutritional value, of course) snacks, I’m reaching for our beloved Pebbly.

calbee-bean-snack-bejitaberu-3

Have you tried the Calbee Bejitaberu snacks? Do you have another savory snack you pick up from Mitsukoshi?

Comments are closed.