2014 Flower & Garden Festival: The Smokehouse’s Piggylicious Bacon Cupcake

After work last night, I made a stop by Epcot on the way home to get a taste of the Epcot International Flower and Garden Festival. Menus and prices were out (which I’ll be posting shortly), so I made my way around World Showcase to get pictures and sample a few items. One item in particular that seemed to be the “talk of the internet” since the menus were released was the Piggylicious Bacon Cupcake from the Smokehouse Barbecue & Brews.

2014-flower-garden-the-smokehouse-barbecue-and-brews

2014-flower-garden-the-smokehouse-barbecue-and-brews-2

There are several items Matt and I looking forward to trying this weekend. We enjoyed b0th the Pulled Pig Slider (up $.25 in price from last year) and Smoked Beef Brisket last year, and we’re looking forward to this year’s Smoked Turkey “Rib.” Since Matt wasn’t with me on this visit, I met up with my aunt, who was also interested in trying the Piggylicious Bacon Cupcake, and I was more than happy to have someone help out!

2014-flower-garden-the-smokehouse-barbecue-and-brew-menu

The cupcake isn’t your typical “Disney” size cupcake. It’s, you know, normal size. 😉 The white, bacon studded cake is topped with Maple Frosting and Pretzel Crunch (aka mini-pretzels) and features Neuske’s Applewood-smoked bacon (a favorite of mine).

2014-flower-garden-the-smokehouse-barbecue-and-brew-piggylicious-bacon-cupcake

2014-flower-garden-the-smokehouse-barbecue-and-brew-piggylicious-bacon-cupcake-2

There was a solid amount of bacon throughout the cake portion, which was a cross between cake and cornbread in consistency. The smoky bacon was quite strong, and the heartier pieces from the thick cut of the bacon didn’t get lost. The cake itself leaned toward the savory thanks to the salt of the bacon, but the thick maple frosting balanced it a touch with its sweetness. I liked the combination of the pretzels with the frosting.

2014-flower-garden-the-smokehouse-barbecue-and-brew-piggylicious-bacon-cupcake-3

Final thoughts? The price of $3.50 for the gimmicky treat was worth it for the novelty. If you really like bacon, check it out, but I barely got through half, and the two of us couldn’t finish it. It had an overall richness that was a bit too much. If Matt decides he wants to try it this weekend, I’ll probably sneak a bite, but there are other items I’d personally rather put my money toward. And if you really want a cupcake with bacon (or can’t make it to the festival), I recommend The King Cupcake at Everything Pop at Pop Century.

Will you be trying the Piggylicious Bacon Cupcake at the Epcot International Flower and Garden Festival?

3 responses to “2014 Flower & Garden Festival: The Smokehouse’s Piggylicious Bacon Cupcake

  1. I was so relieved when I got to the end of this and saw “didn’t make it through the cupcake.” Phew. Dodged a bullet on that one.

  2. Pretty sure that this (and nearly all other baked goods) aren’t going to be on our must try list this year – too many calories, too many carb, not as good as my baking (besides, I’d rather allocate the calories and carbs to other things).

  3. We’re definitely more interested in the protein options on our end! 🙂