2014 Epcot International Flower & Garden Festival: Buttercup Cottage

Last year’s “The Cottage” at Epcot International Flower & Garden Festival has returned as “Buttercup Cottage.” The menu has been revamped quite a bit from both food and beverage selections. From the official website:

“Delight in elegant afternoon-tea offerings and fresh garden flavors near the United Kingdom Pavilion. Drop by this charming locale to sample scrumptious treats, British teas and beverages inspired by lovely English fruits and fragrances.”

2014-flower-garden-buttercup-cottage

The one return item (with a slight name change) is the Freshly Baked Potato and Cheddar Cheese Biscuit with Smoked Salmon Tartare. I liked the dish last year, but not enough to revisit it. While I liked the biscuit itself, I felt the smoked salmon was a bit mushy. Even with the price increase of 25 cents though, I still feel its a pretty good value in terms of size and heartiness.

2014-flower-garden-buttercup-cottage-menu

For my visit, I was most interested in the Field Greens with Plant City Strawberries, Toasted Almonds, and Farmstead Stilton. This simple salad was nicely dressed featured some bold flavors and a variety of textures.

2014-flower-garden-buttercup-cottage-field-greens

The subtle sweetness of the strawberries (mine were big on actual strawberry flavor) paired with the tart Stilton was fantastic, with the cheese not being so strong that it masked the other elements. The sliced almonds were a nice addition for some crunch and their nuttiness was also nice against the cheese. I’ll really be surprised if I don’t return for this dish during the festival, as it was a standout for me.

2014-flower-garden-buttercup-cottage-field-greens-2

I was with my aunt when trying the salad, and she ordered the Pork and Apple Sausage Roll with House-made Piccalilli. I was able to sample the dish and didn’t find much apple flavor to the roll, and the pastry was a bit difficult to cut through with a fork (I think every kiosk we visited had unfilled knife dispensers). It seemed the juices from the filling softened it enough that it became a bit gummy.

2014-flower-garden-buttercup-cottage-pork-and-apple-sausage-roll

The piccalilli was a nice accompaniment, with its sweet and tart flavor pairing well with the savory pork roll. In all, despite the pastry being a seemingly a bit underdone, I thought flavorwise it was a decent dish. I’d say it’s worth a try, although I’m on the fence about going back for it unless Matt was with me and interested, and he probably would be.

2014-flower-garden-buttercup-cottage-pork-and-apple-sausage-roll-2

Here’s a look at last year’s Potato, Chive and Cheddar Cheese Biscuit with Smoked Salmon Tartare and Sour Cream, which, from what I’ve seen, looks the same this year:

flower-garden-2013-the-cottage-potato-chive-and-cheddar-cheese-biscuit-with-smoked-salmon-tartare-and-sour-cream

We haven’t tried the Fresh-baked Lemon Scones with Berry Preserves and Creme Fraiche, but I’m not sure it will happen, but word on the street is they’re pretty tasty and the portion size for the price is a great value. In all, I’ll probably be back for the Field Greens before festival end, and apart from being my top pick from the kiosk, it’s a stand out among other dishes I’ve sampled thus far.

Have you visited the Buttercup Cottage kiosk at the Epcot International Flower & Garden Festival? What did you order and what did you think of it?

8 responses to “2014 Epcot International Flower & Garden Festival: Buttercup Cottage

  1. We haven’t stopped here yet. All three items are on our radarโ€ฆ BTW the lemon scones smell AMAZING when we walk by, definitely have to give these a try.

  2. You’ll have to let me know what you think of the scones! Much like your comment on getting your sushi calories from elsewhere than Hanami, I’d rather splurge on carbs elsewhere. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Like beer calories (ha ha ha)? Stay away from the Billy’s Chiles though – not good – okay with the flight I suppose, but we threw ours away after tasting!

  4. Definitely beer, especially in Epcot! ๐Ÿ˜‰ While I haven’t done a full review on The Smokehouse yet, I forgot that Billy’s Chilies was being served there and inadvertently picked up a bottle for around $2 at the Whole Foods on Turkey Lake Road. I actually liked it, unlike apparently everyone else on the planet! It was somewhat light and I liked the bit of jalapeno heat it provided at the back of the tongue. It’s a one-and-done beer, however; I doubt anyone could “throw back a few Billy’s Chilies!” ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Thanks for the info re: Billy’s Chilies at Whole Foods. We need to get a bottle for a gag gift and didn’t have any idea where to look! :O

  6. The biscuit was definitely our favorite item from the festival this year. We enjoyed it last year as well, so we knew we’d be back for it. And we were not disappointed. It’s a large portion for F&G/F&W kiosks which is nice and like you said, even with the price hike, it was still a good value.

  7. Ha! Matt wasn’t a fan, but I’d pick up a bottle to enjoy once in a while. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I’m definitely finding better overall value in the food at the “Outdoor Kitchens” at F&G than F&W. Glad to hear the biscuit was as good as last year’s!