2014 Epcot International Flower & Garden Festival: Primavera Kitchen

Much like the Italy kiosk during the Food & Wine Festival, I tend to skip by Primavera Kitchen during the Epcot International Flower & Garden Festival. It’s not that there’s anything really wrong with the food being served, it’s just I find that many of the menu items overpriced and underwhelming, and my money is better spent at the nearby Tutto Gusto Wine Cellar. From the official website:

“Say, “Ciao!” to spring as you set sail for a land of garden-fresh foods near the Italy Pavilion. On your stop, be sure to explore the countryside’s many flavors—caprese, manicotti, torte di ricotta and fine Italian wines.”

2014-flower-garden-primavera-kitchen

This year, however, I decided I would order the Caprese since I’m a HUGE fan of the salad, and I love cheese. My aunt went for the Torta di Ricotta.

2014-flower-garden-primavera-kitchen-menu

The Caprese features Fior di Latte Mozzarella, Roasted Peppers, and Olio Verde. My portion came with a hearty, thick slab of mozzarella, flanked by two peppers and sprinkled with basil and nearly drenched in olive oil.

2014-flower-garden-primavera-kitchen-2

The mozzarella was creamy, but it could have used a touch of salt. The amount of oil was a bit much for the portion, but wasn’t overwhelming. Along with the basil, there was a light freshness between the elements. The roasted peppers weren’t very roasted, only softened slightly and without any blistering of the skin. They did impart a subtle sweetness which was nice against the other delicate flavors.

2014-flower-garden-primavera-kitchen-caprese

The Torta di Ricotta (Lemon Cheeseacke with Limoncello Marinated Strawberries) was underwhelming. The lemon flavor in the cheesecake portion was mild yet noticeable. My aunt noted that she didn’t get any Limoncello flavor from the strawberries.

2014-flower-garden-primavera-kitchen-torta-di-ricotta

I had considered going back to give their Three Cheese Manicotti a try, as their pasta dishes usually provide the most bang for your buck, but decided to pass since, while okay, haven’t really blown me away in the past. While I liked the Caprese, I felt it was pricey for the portion and it’s not something I would return for (I ended up making a nice version at home for around the same price and had a LOT more to enjoy!). The Torta di Ricotta is quite small and also pricey thanks to the addition of alcohol to the strawberries, which didn’t taste of the advertised Limoncello. I think some might ask if they simply waved the bottle over the berries.

Let’s just say, I stand by my “save my money for Tutto Gusto” comment. 😉

Have you visited the Primavera Kitchen kiosk at the Epcot International Flower & Garden Festival? What did you order and what did you think of it?

4 responses to “2014 Epcot International Flower & Garden Festival: Primavera Kitchen

  1. We decided to not visit this outdoor kitchen. As you say, too pricey and not impressive.
    We’re also on the “save my money for Tutto Gusto” team. (Although they can be pricey too, especially the draft beer.)

  2. Go Team Tutto! 😉 Yes, the Moretti is quite expensive there (probably another $1.25 or more over Mama Melrose’s Moretti draft). I don’t mind ordering a wine or cocktail there, though. 🙂

  3. My wife tried the caprese as well. I only had a small piece of the mozzarella and left the remainder of the dish to her as I was venturing to the Smokehouse and knew she wouldn’t eat anything from there as it isn’t her thing. She said she enjoyed it but I don’t know that it blew her away. I don’t think it would be something she would venture back for. I considered ordering the manicotti but as it was fairly warm that day, neither of us wanted something that would surely be very heavy.

  4. I would say the Caprese was more of a $4 dish than $5.75, but even then, I don’t know if I’d return for it. Sounds like your wife and I had the same feeling about it taste-wise though!