Snacks From Mexico: Obleas

Our “Snacks from…” series treats you to different snacks found in the World Showcase pavilions at Epcot. Find more reviews here! Continuing our series, we head to Plaza de los Amigos in the Mexico Pavilion!

It looks like this is an Eating WDW first – a Snacks from Mexico! I know I’ve bought snacks there before, but I haven’t reviewed anything here. If you look around a bit in the pavilion and get past all of the Kahlua-flavored items, there are some interesting items to be enjoyed! Matt and I spotted this package of Obleas: Wafers with Goat’s Milk Candy. Goat’s milk!? We had to try it!

snacks-from-mexico-obleas-package

The treat consists of two thing wheat wafers held together by a layer of caramel made with goat milk. The package contains 5 individually wrapped sandwiches.

snacks-from-mexico-obleas-nutrition-ingredients

snacks-from-mexico-obleas-individual

The wafers essentially have no flavor, and are reminiscent of Satellite Wafers or Flying Saucer candy. They are simply a conveyance for the caramel.

snacks-from-mexico-obleassnacks-from-mexico-obleas-2

I really wasn’t expecting much from this snack, and anticipated it tasting like any other caramel. For the most part, this was the case, but then I could taste a grassy-ness to it. The caramel had a small but noticeable earthiness you don’t get with caramel from cow’s milk. I really liked the slight tang from it.

snacks-from-mexico-obleas-3

$7 for a package of 5 may seem a bit steep, but these are each a decent diameter (it is an 8.8 oz. pack, after all), with each candy weighing in just under 2 ounces. That’s not a terrible price for a family or even two people. Currently, you can find these on Amazon in a 5 pack for around $21 (25 sandwiches total), so those that cant find Obleas locally have an easy option (and with Prime shipping!). Although I’m not big on sweets, I didn’t find these overly so, but a quarter of one of the sandwiches was enough to satiate me. I really loved the nuances of the caramel flavor, so these may find their way into the pantry once in a while.

Have you tried Obleas? What do you think of them? Let us know in the comments!

2 responses to “Snacks From Mexico: Obleas

  1. This reminds me of Stroopwafel, a Netherland sweet I’ve encountered on previous trips. Very sweet and great with black coffee.

  2. Very similar! A coworker’s mother-in-law brought some back with her from a recent trip. Delicious!