Earl of Sandwich’s Veggie

Early last year after a menu revamp, Earl of Sandwich took their Veggie sandwich off the menu (although it was said that it could be requested since they had the ingredients on hand). I never had a chance to try it, but it sounded delicious with it’s combination of Feta Cheese, Lettuce, Roma Tomatoes, Cucumber, Red Onion, Roasted Red Peppers, and Mediterranean Dressing. It certainly had its fans.

earl-of-sandwich-veggie-wrapped

As of the recent menu changes, the new Veggie features Swiss, Roasted Zucchini, Cabbage, Avocado, Lettuce, Tomato, and Pesto Hummus. The sandwich really isn’t much to look at, and its smell upon opening the wrapper was… pungent.

earl-of-sandwich-veggie-1

The lettuce on this sandwich wasn’t really doing it any favors. While the cabbage added some crunch, it also provided bitterness.

earl-of-sandwich-veggie-2

I didn’t care for the hummus, and there was a lot on there. Overall, it was just a bunch of flavors that didn’t meld for me.

earl-of-sandwich-veggie-3

I’m wondering how fans of the old Veggie will receive this one. It’s not my least favorite (I’ll save those honors for the Tuna Melt and the Holiday Ham), but it’s definitely not one I’ll be ordering again. If I’m going to “go veggie,” I’ll order the Caprese.

What do you think of the new Veggie? Do you think you’ll give it a try, or see if they will recreate the “old” version instead?

4 responses to “Earl of Sandwich’s Veggie

  1. Avocado & hummus aren’t things I would want on a hot sandwich. Of course, I’m not a real big fan of Earl of Sandwich. I don’t like that you are stuck getting your sandwiches hot. It’s just not appealing to me to eat a hot roast beef & cheddar sandwich outside at a table when it’s 90 degrees. I know I am in the minority with this opinion however.

  2. I think that same thing when I see people ordering hot tea or coffee mid-day in summer in the parks. 😉

  3. Awesome, happy to see a new veggie option, finally! Gonna go grab one – thank you for the head’s up!

  4. You’re welcome! It’s been on the menu since at least last summer when I last went. Plus it’s an easy walk from DTD! I like walking over after some time at DTD for a bit of exercise. 🙂