Wolfgang Puck Express’ Breakfast Pocket

If you’ve been reading the blog for a while, you’ll probably know I’m a fan of breakfast, and that I stick to savory ones whenever I partake on WDW property. I also really like Wolfgang Puck Express. With minimal breakfast options at Downtown Disney, it’s often been a go-to when I want something heartier than a breakfast sandwich from Earl of Sandwich. (Now the Starbucks window in the Marketplace is open at 8am with West Side’s at 10am)

wolfgang-puck-express-downtown-disney-marketplace

Since I’m always looking to try something new from the menu (I’ve had the Breakfast Pizza and the now-defunct Fennel Sausage Hash), I opted for something that’s been on the menu a while and has always been of interest to me: The Breakfast Pocket. The pocket is stuffed with scrambled eggs, ham, roasted peppers, red onions, mushrooms, and cheddar. The dish also comes with Roasted Potatoes with Piquillo Peppers. While I typically don’t make modifications for review purposes, I’m really not big on ham, and with it being the sole meat protein on the dish, I asked if I could have bacon instead of the ham, which was no problem.

wolfgang-puck-express-downtown-disney-marketplace-breakfast-pocket

Upon paying at the register, I was given a number to bring to my table. My food arrived, and at first glance, it looked pretty good. After poking around at it and unfolding the pocket, I realized the bacon was missing. I mentioned this and it was quickly fixed.

wolfgang-puck-express-downtown-disney-marketplace-breakfast-pocket-2

The same pocket returned a few minutes later with two sizable, thick pieces of bacon tucked inside. Judging by the dark spots on the crust, it also looked like it received another minute in the oven.

wolfgang-puck-express-downtown-disney-marketplace-breakfast-pocket-3

The roasted peppers used were primarily yellow, and there appeared to be a few red ones in there as well. The mushrooms were the type packed in water, which can usually be a downfall on items such as pizza, but here they weren’t too bad, and there weren’t too many. They actually retained their flavor well.

wolfgang-puck-express-downtown-disney-marketplace-breakfast-pocket-4

The red onions had been cooked down a bit to take away some of their bite, but they remained flavorful. The eggs retained a lot of their moisture thanks to all of the other ingredients as well. Apart from the cheddar, there was some mozzarella on top, which only appeared after the dish came back with the bacon. Not complaining – just observing.

wolfgang-puck-express-downtown-disney-marketplace-breakfast-pocket-5

The Roasted Potatoes were fairly good. I would have liked a bit more crispness to the exterior, but otherwise the flavors and texture were nicely done. The sweetness of the piquillo peppers was a nice addition. Nonetheless, I’d be happy to see them on my plate again.

wolfgang-puck-express-downtown-disney-marketplace-breakfast-pocket-potatoes

Here is the menu outside of the restaurant which features descriptions of the items, and below is the menu above the ordering counter (click for larger):

wolfgang-puck-express-downtown-disney-marketplace-menu-6114

wolfgang-puck-express-downtown-disney-marketplace-menu-6114-2

Sizewise, I made three meals out of the Breakfast Pocket and Roasted Potatoes. There is easily enough to split between two for breakfast. While it’s been a while since I’ve had the Breakfast Pizza, I think I’d likely order it over the Breakfast Pocket (though that Tomato, Basil & Goat Cheese Omelet may be in my future!). Of course, it’s a matter of what you’re in the mood for; I don’t think you can go wrong with either one.

Have you visited Wolfgang Puck Express for breakfast? Do you have a favorite breakfast item to order?

2 responses to “Wolfgang Puck Express’ Breakfast Pocket

  1. I agree about that omelet. I look forward to living vicariously through you when you review that one.

  2. I’m just happy that my egg aversion dissipated! The omelet really sounds great, and I’d totally go for the arugula salad. 🙂