Goofy’s Candy Co. Sour Cherry Balls

A short while back, I posed the question: Which Treats Do You Bring Home From WDW? We had several responses here on the blog as well as on Twitter, everything from pieces of fudge to Mickey Rice Krispies Treats – and of course all excellent options. Andrew of Disney Hipster Blog mentioned that they like to bring home a few bags of Goofy’s Candy Co. Sour Cherry Balls to enjoy at home when they’re missing Disney. Since it has been over two years since I’ve reviewed a Goofy’s Candy Co. packaged goody, and I’ve never tried these, I figured I’d give them a try.

goofys-candy-co-sour-cherry-balls

The 7oz. bag currently runs at $4.95 and contains around 50 pieces of glossy, maraschino cherry-sized candies.

goofys-candy-co-sour-cherry-balls-2

Texturally, these aren’t much different from a jelly bean, with the slightest shell protecting the chewy interior. On the flavor size of things, these aren’t very sour, but provide some tartness to balance out what would be an otherwise very sweet candy. While these candies also come in a pack of assorted colors and flavors, cherry is probably the way to go, at least for me. Knowing my history with fruit flavored candy, I always save cherry for last, so I might as well cut to the chase. 😉

goofys-candy-co-sour-cherry-balls-3

goofys-candy-co-sour-cherry-balls-ingredients-allergies

goofys-candy-co-sour-cherry-balls-nutrition

While I’m not typically one to purchase candy (with the exception of fun, different ones from around World Showcase), I could see these making an appearance in my shopping bags once in a while. I’ve liked having them tucked away in a drawer at work, so when that mid-afternoon crash comes, I can grab a small handful for a little pick-me-up. (Yes, I can get the non-Disney branded version online and probably at the local drug store, but that’s missing out on part of the fun!) A special thanks to Andrew for the tip on these candies! I’m really glad I gave them a try!

Have you every picked up a bag of Goofy’s Candy Co. Sour Cherry Balls? Do you have a different favorite you like to bring home!

6 responses to “Goofy’s Candy Co. Sour Cherry Balls

  1. Yay! We actually just ate a bag of these out of Disney related desperation…they make me feel at home. 🙂

  2. I’m almost out of my work stash… So glad that something so simple brings back happy memories for you! 🙂

  3. Yes- you have found my guilty disney drive home pleasure!

  4. Awesome! Happy there are several people out there responding to this candy! 🙂

  5. I always bring a bag or two of these home from disney and then try to stretch them out as much as possible

  6. I wonder if this particular candy could be a fan favorite with the responses we’re getting! Thanks for commenting, Ruth!