Lunch at Pinocchio Village Haus

It’s been quite some time since we last visited Pinocchio Village Haus, way back in 2012 when they first introduced their flatbread pizzas. After a morning of hitting up some attractions around Magic Kingdom, we started to get hungry and popped in to see if anything looked interested to us.

pinocchio-village-haus

The menu (click for larger) still features the flatbreads, as well as a couple salads, a meatball sub, and chicken nuggets – all pretty standard theme park fare.

pinocchio-village-haus-menu-1-62214

I’ve also had the Mediterranean Salad in the past, and it was a pretty good salad. Definitely one I’d recommend. On this visit, however, Matt opted for the Caesar Salad with Chicken and the Tomato Basil Soup. I went with the Italian Flatbread Sub.

pinocchio-village-haus-menu-3-62214

pinocchio-village-haus-menu-2-62214

I also got the Maleficent Light Up Stick, which was supposed to come with a beverage. It was initially left off our order, so I returned for it and the Cast Member happily gave it to me. Unfortunately, I neglected the fact that there was supposed to be said beverage with it, so we had one soda which I paid for in addition to the one I was supposed to receive. D’oh!

pinocchio-village-haus-maleficent-olaf-slush-sign

pinocchio-village-haus-maleficent-light-up-stick

Matt’s Caesar Salad with Chicken was a good size, topped with plenty of chicken and cheese.

pinocchio-village-haus-caesar-salad-with-chicken

He made a decent dent in it, but he didn’t seem to crazy about it. I think it might have just been one of those “it’s just not hitting the spot” moments. I tried a piece of the chicken and it had a really off-putting texture to me. It was rather rubbery and the flavor seemed odd as well. On a positive note, the iceberg lettuce was seemingly fresh and crisp.

pinocchio-village-haus-caesar-salad-with-chicken-2

The Tomato Basil Soup fared better. It was relatively thick and creamy. Although Matt’s typically not a big tomato soup fan, he liked this version, noting it reminded him of the version served at Nature’s Table. I found it to be okay, but not something I’d order myself.

pinocchio-village-haus-tomato-basil-soup

The Italian Flatbread Sub, featuring Italian Meats, Cheese, Dressing and Balsamic Glaze, shared a similar fate to the salad. I made it though roughly a quarter of the “sub” before throwing in the towel. The cracker-like flat would have been fine in its intended use, but here it was just overly dry, crumbly and messy. While Matt isn’t an Italian sandwich fan, he took a bite and gave it a sarcastic, “Mmmmm…”

pinocchio-village-haus-italian-flatbread-sub

pinocchio-village-haus-italian-flatbread-sub-2

It sort of reminded me of the Muffaletta Flatbread I had from Riverside Mill earlier this month, which was okay, but this execution just wasn’t working. Sadly, we threw out a lot of money this day.

pinocchio-village-haus-italian-flatbread-sub-3

Unless I’m in the mood for a flatbread, I’ll likely be steering clear of Pinocchio Village Haus for the foreseeable future, instead venturing to Columbia Harbour House for time-tested favorites, like Matt’s Anchors Aweigh Sandwich and my new-ish favorite, the Lighthouse Sandwich. I almost ordered the Barbecue Chicken Flatbread, but after tasting the chicken on Matt’s salad, I’m glad I didn’t.

Do you visit Pinocchio Village Haus on your trips to Magic Kingdom? Do you have a go-to menu item?

5 responses to “Lunch at Pinocchio Village Haus

  1. Seriously besides the tomato soup the only thing I’d ever order again there is the exit sign. We last ate there in October on a not so scary party night and made the mistake of ordering the “chicken” nuggets. We won’t eat there again until there’s a menu change. Pecos or Tortuga for QS

  2. For a buck less you could have gotten a large drink, chips, cookie, and fresh foot long sub with fresh toppings and bread at Subway. I charged me about $7 for a scoop of macaroni and cheese, that was all they had that was soy and gluten free.

  3. Laurie – I have no issues with the prices as long as it tastes good. 😉 My last two experiences I’ve had were perfectly fine, but this one was very poor.

    Andy – The flatbread I had on my previous visit (which was over 2 years ago, so you can see how much I like the place) wasn’t bad. The nuggets are the same there as they are everywhere on property though (though Kids meals have a different version than the Adult portion, from what I’ve seen). Definitely a fan of Tortuga, when it’s open! 🙂

  4. I’m glad I didn’t read this before I tried the Italian Flatbread Sub, because I really enjoyed it.

  5. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it! Something about it just wasn’t working for me, though. It could have been the bland, cracker-crisp flatbread’s texture in a “sub” format, or just the way the flavors seemed disjointed.