Tortuga Tavern’s Beef Nachos

On my latest trip to Magic Kingdom, I was struggling with deciding on where to grab lunch. It had been a while since my last visit to Tortuga Tavern, so I stopped in to order their Beef Nachos.

tortuga-tavern

The nachos come topped with beef, cheese sauce, and a black bean salsa. There’s a topping bar at the restaurant where you can add diced tomatoes, shredded cheese, shredded lettuce, red or green salsa, and sliced banana peppers.

tortuga-tavern-beef-nachos

It’s nothing fancy, but it’s usually pretty good. This visit, however, wasn’t the best. The beef and cheese sauce were cold. The items on the topping bar were warmer than what came out of the kitchen. Flavor-wise, everything was okay, but I was bummed by the temperature of the food. Having been to Tortuga Tavern on several occasions, I know this was a fluke, and I’ll certainly return.

tortuga-tavern-beef-nachos-2

While there used to be a non-alcoholic sangria served, there is now a Strawberry Lemonade Slush. Normally, I don’t go for the slushes at WDW based on the fact they’re way too sweet for me, but I’m a sucker and loved this skull mug and could always use another glow cube to add to the glow cube graveyard in my freezer. Sometimes with these souvenir drinks, you might be able to order soda instead of whichever specialty beverage being sold for a dollar or two less. I was able to with the the Tiki Tankard at Sunshine Tree Terrace not too long ago, so just be sure to ask.

tortuga-tavern-strawberry-lemonade-slush-menu-7614

While the slush was sweet, it wasn’t overbearingly so for me. It’s probably the best slush I’ve had at the parks. I wouldn’t go out of my way for it, but I would consider it again in the future.

tortuga-tavern-strawberry-lemonade-slush-skull-mug-glow-cube

Here’s a look at the menu:

tortuga-tavern-menu-7614

What do you like to order from Tortuga Tavern?

2 responses to “Tortuga Tavern’s Beef Nachos

  1. Glow Cube Graveyard is the name of my new (imaginary) punk rock band.

  2. It does have a nice ring to it, no? 😉