Breakfast at Grand Floridian Cafe

It’s been several years since I’ve had a meal at the Grand Floridian Cafe in the Grand Floridian Resort. Our last visit was for lunch was back in 2011! Since I’d never been there for breakfast, I booked a reservation for myself while Matt played golf and before I met up with family of family at Magic Kingdom. I was immediately seated upon arrival at a window table for two near the back of the restaurant.

I decided to kick my meal off with a Florida Sunshine, which features Peach Schnapps, Chambord, Skyy Vodka, and a splash of Orange and Cranberry Juices. The cocktail was well-mixed, and while I could taste a bit of the booze, it wasn’t overbearing and it had a nice balance with the juices. I liked that it wasn’t overly sweet and had a good balance with the tartness of the cranberry juice. It’s a good, fruity, and relatively safe breakfast cocktail.

grand-floridian-cafe-florida-sunshine

If you’ve been reading our breakfast posts for a while, you’ll know that Matt’s the one to order pancakes – not me (though the Sweet Potato Pancakes on the breakfast buffet at The Wave are delicious). The Citrus Pancakes are topped with Roasted Pecans and Sun-dried Cranberries and served with House-made Orange Butter. They also come topped with mandarin oranges, drizzled with syrup, and sprinkled with powdered sugar. The meal comes with your choice of Bacon or Sausage, of which I chose bacon.

grand-floridian-cafe-citrus-pancakes

The pancakes themselves didn’t taste like they were flavored, but these were the lightest, cloud-like pancakes I’ve ever had. Even without all the additional accoutrements on top, I would have eaten them. I loved everything about these pancakes, from the crunch of the pecans to the tartness of the cranberries to the citrusy sweetness from the oranges and butter. If all pancakes were this good, I’d probably want to eat them.

grand-floridian-cafe-citrus-pancakes-2

The bacon was cooked to my liking – nice and crisp. And is was also the thicker cut bacon instead of the usual translucent stuff served at WDW.

grand-floridian-cafe-citrus-pancakes-bacon

Here are the menus from my visit (click for larger):

grand-floridian-cafe-breakfast-menu-7614-1Top Item: Tinker Bell and Friends or Buzz Lightyear Punch – Minute Miad Light Lemonade Punch served in a souvenir Fairies or Toy Story 3 Cup with a glowing Tinker Bell or Buzz Lightear Clip-on Light $6.99

grand-floridian-cafe-breakfast-menu-7614-2Top Item: Grand Colada – A tropical blend of Myer’s Original Dark Rum, Coconut, and Pineapple topped with Blue Curacao $9.75

grand-floridian-cafe-breakfast-menu-7614-3

grand-floridian-cafe-breakfast-menu-7614-4

grand-floridian-cafe-breakfast-menu-7614-5

Overall, my breakfast was fantastic. My server had an assistant earning his ears, and they were both excellent at judging the pace of my meal and balanced being friendly and talking to me while waiting for my food (since I was dining alone) and allowing me to enjoy my meal when it arrived. There was way to much food for me, though, and I would have loved to take my leftovers home so Matt could try them, but alas, I had to head to the park. All the more reason to return with Matt, right? 😉

Have you visited Grand Floridian Cafe for breakfast? Do you have another meal you prefer to enjoy there?

6 responses to “Breakfast at Grand Floridian Cafe

  1. As usual, when you order sweet-ish things, I like to pretend you did so with me in mind. 😉 Those look AWESOME and I’ve never eaten at the GF Cafe, so I may need to try it – although I doubt they’d top Kona’s pineapple-macadamia nut pancakes so hmmm….

  2. I still want to try Kona’s for comparison. I love macadamia nuts! I think a lot of my enjoyment of these came from how light the pancakes themselves were. 🙂

  3. Hi Sarah! Loved your post, I wanted to dive into the computer and drink and eat it all up 😉 I have never been to the GFC- but it is on my “must eat there” list – thank you! ~Maureen from Two Moms and A Mouse :ºoº

  4. Thank you, Maureen! Hope you get to try the restaurant soon!

  5. I had just made a breakfast ADR at the GF Cafe for my trip in September.
    Thanks to you,
    I now know exactly what I’m ordering.
    Yum!

  6. Awesome! Hope you enjoy!