Appetizers at the Tune-In Lounge

The Tune-In Lounge is one of my favorite places to kick back when at Hollywood Studios (the Brown Derby Lounge takes the top). I enjoy the vibe and theme, and the food you can order from 50’s Prime Time Cafe is typically delicious. It’s classic comfort food. While enjoying a “Girls Day Out” with my friend Jen, we stopped in and enjoyed a couple of appetizers while hearing the yells of the Cast Members call waiting families into the restaurant.

I wanted to try something new to me, so I ordered Cousin Amy’s Iceberg Lettuce Wedge, which has Blue Cheese Dressing, Bacon and Chives. Fun fact: I actually have a cousin Amy.

50s-prime-time-cafe-tune-in-lounge-cousin-amys-iceberg-lettuce-wedge

I wasn’t crazy about the dressing itself. It’s almost slime-like. But everything else about the salad was quite good. The lettuce was fresh and crisp, and there were a lot of blue cheese crumbles added to the salad, almost making up for the dressing. The bacon had some nice smokiness. The chives weren’t really adding anything, but certainly were not a distraction from anything else. Even with the dressing, I’d order this again for a light snack.

50s-prime-time-cafe-tune-in-lounge-cousin-amys-iceberg-lettuce-wedge-2

Now while this isn’t new to me, I had to order the Fried Herb and Garlic Cheese, which is served warm with Raspberry Sauce and Toasted French Bread. Apple slices and grapes also adorn the plate.

50s-prime-time-cafe-tune-in-lounge-fried-herb-and-garlic-cheese

I’ve ordered this in the past, and the presentation then was a touch nicer, but this dish tastes great. The cheese is creamy with some crunch from the breading, and has just enough seasoning while letting the cheese do its thing.

50s-prime-time-cafe-tune-in-lounge-fried-herb-and-garlic-cheese-2

For the amount of cheese, a bit more bread would be nice, especially when sharing. But otherwise, no complaints on this appetizer. I need to get Matt to stop by and enjoy it with me sometime (I’m sure I’ll have to twist his arm…), but I think I could easily recreate this at home.

50s-prime-time-cafe-tune-in-lounge-fried-herb-and-garlic-cheese-3

Here’s a look at the menu:

tune-in-lounge-50s-prime-time-cafe-menu-62114

In all, another great time at the Tune-In Lounge, ordering from the 50’s Prime Time Cafe menu. We and our friends have tried a lot of items here over the years:

Onion-RingsBeer-battered Onion Rings

chicken-noodle-soupChicken Noodle Soup

moms-samplerA Sampling of Mom’s Favorites (Country-friend Chicken, Fork-tender Pot Roast, & Traditional Meatloaf)

aunt-lizs-golden-fried-chickenAunt Liz’s Golden Fried Chicken

50s-prime-time-cafe-grandmas-chicken-pot-pieGrandma’s Chicken Pot Pie

Caesar SaladCaesar Salad

Stacked SandwichStacked Sandwich (no longer on the menu)

fried-fish-sandwichFish Sandwich (no longer on the menu)

boston-cream-pie-parfait50’s Boston Cream Parfait

What is your favorite dish from 50’s Prime Time Cafe/Tune-In Lounge? Do you prefer grabbing a bite at the lounge, or being seated in the restaurant?

4 responses to “Appetizers at the Tune-In Lounge

  1. I love the fried cheese. I was so bummed when they took it off the menu for a while I’m glad they came to their senses and brought it back!

  2. My menus from 2011 and 2012 don’t have it listed, but I first had it in February 2013. Sorry to have missed it in the past, but am so happy that it returned! 🙂

  3. We were looking for a way to try 50’s prime time food without all the “antics” of the dining room. This seems like a great alternative! Is this just first come first serve?

  4. Yes – Tune-In is essentially the waiting area for guests dining at the restaurant. The bar itself is fairly small maybe 12 seats, and it can get pretty busy, especially during meal times. Plan on getting there earlier to secure a seat and enjoy your meal! 🙂