2014 Food & Wine: Scotland

When Scotland was introduced last year at the Epcot International Food and Wine Festival, it proved to be a somewhat interesting option in terms of food. Of course, everything was new, and two of the items were vegetarian. The Vegetarian Haggis made its way back to the festival, which was not something I needed to revisit this year.

2014-epcot-food-wine-festival-scotland

Not having asked why the dessert option, Cranachan, wasn’t listed as vegetarian, my assumption would be that it uses gelatin. Also, having seen other guests with the dessert, I didn’t think the portion size for the price tag was worth it. Josh over at Easy WDW ordered it and found it disappointing.

2014-epcot-food-wine-festival-scotland-menu

With half the food items off my list, I ordered the two that remained. The Fresh Potato Pancake featured Scottish Smoked Salmon and Herb Sour Cream.

2014-food-wine-scotland-fresh-potato-pancake-1

When it comes to smoked salmon, I’ve become a take-it-or-leave-it kind of person. This particular smoked salmon is one I’d leave. There wasn’t really anything wrong with it, but it wasn’t anything special. Despite having visible herbs in the sour cream, it remained relatively bland.

2014-food-wine-scotland-fresh-potato-pancake-2

The potato pancake itself was overcooked and not very potato-y. A shredded potato would have been much better. I ended up throwing much of this dish into the trash.

2014-food-wine-scotland-fresh-potato-pancake-3

The Seared Sea Scallop comes served with Spinach-Cheddar Gratin and Crispy Bacon. We speak about consistency a lot during the Festival, and the Gratin I received was much cheesier in appearance to Josh’s over at Easy WDW.

2014-food-wine-scotland-seared-sea-scallop

The bacon had a nice smokiness to it, but tasted almost candied. You can see the caramelized sheen on the pieces.

2014-food-wine-scotland-seared-sea-scallop-2

The scallop was nicely cooked, and this is probably your best bet at Scotland. I’d order this again, but for the Spinach-Cheddar Gratin alone.

2014-food-wine-scotland-seared-sea-scallop-3

Here is a look at the Vegetarian Haggis from Last year, which has not changed.

2013-food-wine-scotland-vegetarian-haggis

Overall, the Seared Sea Scallop is worth the stop in Scotland. The Fresh Potato Pancake was a miss for me, and I didn’t feel the need to revisit the Vegetarian Haggis. The Cranachan didn’t appear to be worth the money, and I’m glad I went with my instinct on skipping it.

We’ll keep you posted on updated reviews from Scotland as the 2014 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival continues. What have you tried from the kiosk, and what did you think? What are you looking forward to trying?

9 responses to “2014 Food & Wine: Scotland

  1. I actually really enjoyed the haggis and am happy it’s back–it’s one of the few veggie dishes that isn’t totally slathered in cheese. That’s a win for me.

  2. Awww, man. I was super excited for the cranachan and ANYTHING involving smoked salmon. I may have to try them anyway; you’re free to say I told you so!

  3. Everyone has different tastes, so you never know if you might enjoy it more than I did! 🙂

  4. I had the potato pancake/smoked salmon and thought it was quite tasty and cooked properly. But I have to agree that the dish wasn’t anything special.

  5. I didn’t get a chance to try the haggis at Scotland last year (not enough time :-() but I would have liked to have since I had haggis in Scotland on a high school trip and I remember it being not too bad (kinda tasted and had a texture like crumbled sausage honestly). I was hoping the salmon and potato pancake would stay for next year but after your review I’m not so sure.

  6. I was on the fence about the potato pancake … I love smoked salmon, but most potato pancakes and most varieties of sour cream are off-putting to me. I think I’ll stick with the scallop!

  7. Cherry – The haggis wasn’t something I needed to have again. Some others liked the potato pancake, so we won’t know for a while if it sticks around should Scotland return in 2015.

    Katherine – Scallop was definitely the best thing there to me! Possibly one of the must-haves of the Festival!

  8. The sea scallop was my favorite new food and wine experience this year. Here’s to hoping it makes an appearance again!