2014 Food & Wine: Patagonia

The Patagonia kiosk was touted as being “new” this year, but while the name has changed, the kiosk itself and the food items remain distinctly “Argentina.”

2014-epcot-food-wine-festival-patagonia

20130929-154721.jpg2013’s Argentina Kiosk

Each food item has been raised by 25 cents, and the Roasted Verlasso Salmon has been added. The Pascal Tosdo Sparkling Brut is up a whopping $1.50, with the Terrazas Reserva Malbec remaining unchanged. Cono Sur Bicicleta Viognier and Pinot Noir Rose replace Terrazas Reserva Torrontes and Kaiken Cabernet Sauvignon at lower price points.

2014-epcot-food-wine-festival-patagonia-menu

Now don’t get me wrong; I am a fan of both the Beef Empanada and Grilled Beef Skewer. Matt especially enjoys the latter. And I get that the “Patagonia” designation allows them to incorporate both Argentinian and Chilean flavors into one kiosk. While I would have missed the empanada and skewer, I was sort of hoping for a new menu to go with the “new” kiosk.

20130929-154729.jpg2013’s Argentina Menu

However, I am very happy that they added a third item to their menu, and NOT a dessert! But when the menus were released, I was sad to see the addition was fish. Salmon, nonetheless; a fish I’m particularly (notoriously?) not fond of when cooked. I was, though, determined to give it an honest chance.

The Roasted Verlasso Salmon is served with Quinoa Salad and Arugula Chimichurri. At $4.75, I received what I felt was a decent portion of fish. There was a nice scoop of Quinoa Salad underneath – a good three or four bites of it. There was also a healthy amount of the Arugula Chimichurri on top.

2014-food-wine-patagonia-roasted-verlasso-salmon

 

The chimichurri had a bright flavor to it and complemented the fish nicely. And the salmon? Yeah, I ate every. Last. Bite. Matt tried it, and said, “meh,” but I really liked the fish here. It didn’t have the “cooked salmon” flavor I associate with the fish, and the meat was hearty. The Quinoa Salad had great flavor, too, incorporating corn, tomato, and peppers. Yes, I’d definitely order this one again.

2014-food-wine-patagonia-roasted-verlasso-salmon-2

While we haven’t ordered it yet this year, the Grilled Beef Skewer with Chimichurri Sauce and Boniato Puree is always a hit. There’s a good chance Matt especially will want to stop for this one, otherwise, we might be making it at home.

2013-food-wine-argentina-grilled-beef-skewer

Matt’s not a big empanada fan, but the Beef Empanada is one of the items at the Festival that is a good portion size. I will say, though, that the price is getting up there for what it is. If you’re looking to split it, though, it helps to make it a bit of a better value.

2013-food-wine-argentina-beef-empanada

2013-food-wine-argentina-beef-empanada2

We’ll keep you posted on updated reviews from Patagonia as the 2014 Epcot International Food & Wine Festival continues. What have you tried from the kiosk, and what did you think? What are you looking forward to trying?

9 responses to “2014 Food & Wine: Patagonia

  1. Insert Dread Pirate Roberts joke here.

  2. Yay! Fish that Sarah liked… I’ll definitely have to give this a try. Haven’t has much from the marketplaces yet this year (ravioli, beef kefta, lamb meatball, spicy pimento cheese dip, & venison sausage… That’s it)
    Thanks for all the reviews.

  3. Jenn – Had to Google the reference. I can’t remember the last time I’ve seen the movie, and if I’d even seen the entire thing…

    Nora – I KNOW!!! This one is definitely worth checking out. I’ve been trying to stick to new items or ones that are at least new to me before hitting up the “old” stuff. πŸ™‚

  4. The only item I tried was the empanada… mainly because I love most food items that resembles empanadas! I thought it tasted good BUT it is another item that I would probably not revisit since we have some really good Argentinian restaurants in our area. For anyone who does not have any other sources for good empanadas, it is definitely recommended.

  5. They are something I’ve been wanting to make at home. πŸ™‚

  6. I vacillate a bit whenever I pass Argentina (oops, Patagonia lol). I still remember the way the beef skewers used to be (nice and tender, but with a good bite to them, chunks of meat instead of a tough stringy measly strip of beef and more boniato mash). Empanadas aren’t bad but considering I can usually beg for some from two of my friends’ mamas, I only eat it if someone wants to try it but can’t eat the whole thing. I would be interested in the salmon though and hope it’s still there next year. I do like salmon a lot and haven’t found a recipe of quinoa that I like yet so it would be nice to try it.

  7. I would really like to see the salmon stick around and perhaps add a fourth item to the kiosk if possible, but if they were to do that, it would likely be a dessert. Hopefully, since the kiosk is “new,” they keep the food items around for one more year! πŸ™‚

  8. Wow, that salmon is just drowning in chimichurri! I’ll be interested to see if they cut back on the dressing later in the festival.

  9. Maybe another consistency thing – I ordered it a couple weeks in… At least it was tasty! 😊