Breakfast at The Mara

It had been quite some time since visiting The Mara at Animal Kingdom Lodge, so I made my way over to grab breakfast over the weekend.

the-mara-entrance-2

I had been craving Bobotie, which I had yet to order from The Mara. I’d only enjoyed it at Tusker House in Animal Kingdom and at the Africa kiosk during Food & Wine in 2014.

the-mara-seating

The Bobotie Platter is served with Pap – a grits-like porridge – and Chakalaka – a stewed tomato relish. The Bobotie at The Mara is served in an individually-portioned size about that of a cupcake.

the-mara-bobotie-pap-chakalaka

the-mara-bobotie

The egg mixture incorporates tomatoes, peppers, and raisins, the latter of which adds a touch of sweetness to the dish. While I found the texture to be much better than Tusker House’s, I think it fell short of Food & Wine’s version.

the-mara-bobotie-2

The pap was very thick and almost paste-like in texture. Flavor-wise, it’s quite flat, so the addition of the Chakalaka helps to break up its monotony.

the-mara-pap

Speaking of the Chakalaka, it’s not the most interesting item on the plate, but it does have a little bit of heat. It’s a simple yet nice accompaniment.

the-mara-chakalaka-1

The menu from my visit:

the-mara-menu-22215-1

the-mara-menu-22215-2

the-mara-menu-22215-3

Overall, I though the Bobotie was decent. It’s not necessarily something I’d go out of my way for, but I would order it again. As I’ve said before, it’s nice having some non-traditional Disney fare on the breakfast menu. If you’re like me and enjoy ordering something more that just pancakes or Mickey waffles (which, don’t get me wrong, are quite delicious), the Bobotie is worth a try.

Have you tried The Mara’s Bobotie? Do you stick to more traditional fare when dining at The Mara?

Comments are closed.