Earl of Sandwich’s Earl’s Cobb Salad

Every since Matt tried Earl of Sandwich’s Thai Wrap last month, he’s had me pick one up for him on my Downtown Disney visits to bring home. Since I’ve had a tendency to go on Sundays, this means it will be his lunch the next day. Either the wrap holds up okay for him overnight, or he’s just not as picky as I am (hey, it’s a lunch he doesn’t have to buy or prep!).

downtown-disney-marketplace-earl-of-sandwich

But just because Matt has a new standy-by (especially since Cannonballs! left us), doesn’t mean I order the same thing every time. Plus, I wanted something that I knew would hold up well to bring to lunch the next day. This is why I opted to order Earl’s Cobb Salad. This salad combination features Field Greens, Grilled Chicken, Bacon, Cheddar, Roma Tomato, Cucumber, Cranberries & Ranch Dressing.

earl-of-sandwich-earls-cobb-salad

The Earl’s Cobb takes a lot of liberties when it comes to ingredients of an original Cobb Salad (like the one served at the Hollywood Brown Derby, and we have the recipe here). I suppose that’s why they call it “Earl’s Cobb,” after all. The lettuce looked like a combination of Romaine, Spring Mix, and Baby Spinach. The dressing was served on the side.

earl-of-sandwich-earls-cobb-salad-2

The Cheddar seemed like it was freshly grated; it stuck together a bit and didn’t seem to have that starchy, cellulose coating that prevents it from doing so (like the shredded stuff in bags at the supermarket). The bacon added a touch of salt and smokiness, and the cranberries added some sweet and tartness to the salad.

earl-of-sandwich-earls-cobb-salad-3

For lunches during the work week, I typically have salad four of the five days. If I go out, I usually end up with a Caesar or Greek salad and use the dressing that it comes with. When I bring lunch, my go-to is plain old balsamic vinegar. Ranch isn’t really one of my top salad dressings, though I do like it (but not as much as Matt). I had contemplated going a bit healthier and using my balsamic vinegar instead (what, you don’t keep it in your desk drawer at work?), but ultimately decided, for the sake of review, to use the ranch. I thought there was more than enough dressing, and I didn’t quite use it all. I put the lid back on, shook it up, and dug in.

earl-of-sandwich-earls-cobb-salad-4

The verdict? I enjoyed it. While not my typical combination of salad ingredients, it definitely hit the spot. The salad held up well overnight with seemingly no compromise to its freshness. At the restaurant, they had their standard long, snaking line, but because I ordered a salad that was likely premade and a cold wrap, I received my food a lot faster than those ordering hot sandwiches. I definitely see myself taking Earl of Sandwich up on their salads again in the future.

Have you tried any of Earl of Sandwiches salads? Which one is your favorite?

One response to “Earl of Sandwich’s Earl’s Cobb Salad

  1. YUM. thanks for the A+ photos.