Lunch at Tony’s Town Square Restaurant

One of the restaurants in the Magic Kingdom I’ve never been to (at least as far back as I can remember) is Tony’s Town Square Restaurant. Matt and I were in the park with friends, and were able to snag a reservation the night before our visit. The restaurant doesn’t have the best reputation, but I was reserving judgement to give it an honest try.

tonys-town-square-restaurant

Our reservation was for 12:55, but we were all pretty hungry and arrived about 30 minutes or so early to check in and see if there was any chance we could be seated early. We were told there were a couple of families ahead of us, but they would put our names in. LIES. Since when is “a couple families” equate to around 30? We didn’t get seated until after 1.

tonys-town-square-restaurant-2Outdoor Seating

We were walked through the main dining room (plenty of unseated tables)…

tonys-town-square-restaurant-indoor-seating

…the atrium (more open tables)…

tonys-town-square-restaurant-atrium-seating

…to the outside seating, where, although a sunny day, was quite cold, even in jeans and a sweatshirt, especially when there was a breeze.

tonys-town-square-restaurant-lady-tramp-detail

We were just happy to have finally had our names called, so after several minutes of waiting to order drinks and receive them, we placed an order for appetizers. One of our friends ordered the Zucchini Fries, breaded seasoned Zucchini with creamy Sun-dried Tomato Dressing for dipping.

tonys-town-square-restaurant-zucchini-fries
I’ll just say that she won the appetizer round. The zucchini was nicely fried and had a nice crunch. Even without the dressing, these were pretty good. I’d definitely order them on a future trip.

tonys-town-square-restaurant-zucchini-fries-2

tonys-town-square-restaurant-zucchini-fries-dressing

For the table, we ordered the Calamari, topped with Olive Relish and served with a side of Marinara Sauce. These arrived a bit on the lukewarm side, and the batter wasn’t as crisp as I would have preferred. The rings were nicely cooked, however, and weren’t chewy or tough. I liked the olives accompaniment and the marinara was decent and touch garlicky.

tonys-town-square-restaurant-calamari

Matt is picky when it comes to calamari, and it has to be just right. He picked at a few of the smaller rings, but it was one of our friends that enjoyed it most, snacking throughout the meal. I personally wouldn’t order this again, instead recommending the versions served at Spice Road Table in Epcot and Mama Melrose’s Ristorante Italiano in Hollywood Studios.

tonys-town-square-restaurant-calamari-2

tonys-town-square-restaurant-calamari-marinara

One of our friends ordered the Spaghetti, which is served with Meatballs and Marinara Sauce. For an additional fee, you can substitute Sweet Italian Sausage. He asked if he could have both, and they obliged with a link of sausage and a meatball. He was happy with his dish.

tonys-town-square-restaurant-spaghetti-meatball-sausage

Our other friend ordered the Multigrain Pasta Primavera featuring Seasonal Vegetables tossed in Garlic and Olive Oil with Balsamic Glaze and Feta. The dish was full of veggies and she really enjoyed it.

tonys-town-square-restaurant-multigrain-pasta-primavera

Matt ordered the Cannelloni filled with a mixture or Ground Beef and Sausage, Mozzarella, and Ricotta served with Marinara and Crรจme Sauce. Being very similar to a “lasagna roll”, he enjoyed the dish. The pasta was what I would consider overcooked, but that’s how Matt prefers it. Neither of us could taste much for sausage and it seemed primarily ground beef. For me, I wouldn’t order it myself, as it’s just not my thing, but if it appeals to you, go for it.

tonys-town-square-restaurant-cannelloni

Not being big on pasta and not wanting a salad (it was cold out!), I ordered Joe’s Artisanal Pizza: Italian Sausage, Pepperoni, Peppers, and Onions, garnished with fresh Basil. Right off the bat, there’s no basil on this, and I looooove basil.

tonys-town-square-restaurant-joes-artisanal-pizza

The onions were caramelized for a touch of sweetness, but the peppers were also sweet. I eventually had to pick them off because it was sugary sweet, as if sugar was added while they cooked as opposed to letting the natural sugars do the work. I did like the sausage and would get a bite of it here and there, and its flavor stood out, as opposed to the piece of Matt’s cannelloni I tried.

tonys-town-square-restaurant-joes-artisanal-pizza-2

I think my biggest problem with the pizza is that the bottom has no color and no crunch. While a pizza cutter had been run across it, it wasn’t cut through. It was nearly impossibly to cut through with the butter knife as well. I made quite the mess with my attempts, and after three slices, I just picked off the toppings with my fork, being sure to eat around the sweet peppers and onions. I didn’t need those carbs anyway. ๐Ÿ˜‰

tonys-town-square-restaurant-joes-artisanal-pizza-3

Here are the menus (click for larger):

tonys-town-square-restaurant-menu-1-21614Panini of the Day: Flank Steak, Seasonal Soup: Lentil and Sausage.

tonys-town-square-restaurant-menu-2-21614

tonys-town-square-restaurant-kids-meal-21614

tonys-town-square-restaurant-dessert-menu-21614Nothing on the dessert menu really stood out to us, so we skipped it.

While the dining experience was rather slow, I can’t say Tony’s Town Square Restaurant is, overall, as bad as people make it out to be (at least for this, my first, experience). Everyone was pleased with what they ordered, and I’d even consider the pizza again with some modifications, such as removing at least the peppers and requesting the crust be crisped up if possible. While the calamari wasn’t to Matt’s or my tastes (and we, too, differ there), they were to our friend’s.

Now, I’m not going to go rushing out to make another reservation, but I won’t hesitate to revisit should the restaurant be suggested. Our friends mentioned they prefer the options in Italy at Epcot, and we agree, but for Magic Kingdom, I’ll keep it on the radar. It’s like comedian Mike Birbiglia talking about his family: “My family’s Italian. But we’re not real Italian. We’re more like Olive Garden Italian.”

Let us know what your experiences at Tony’s Town Square have been!

10 responses to “Lunch at Tony’s Town Square Restaurant

  1. Nicole @ pink elephant on parade

    I always consider this place and then decide to just go for Via Napoli or get on the monorail and go to the Kona Cafe-but I do love fried zucchini!

  2. It’s so easy to choose those other options with the Monorail right there! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The fried zucchini looks really good. Have you had the fried green beans over at Yak & Yeti? If so, how would you compare the two? Overall it sounds like your meal was good, but not great. That’s how I feel about Nine Dragons over in Epcot. It’s not that we had a bad experience, it just wasn’t a great experience either. And I’ve had some amazing dining experiences in other WDW restaurants so why go back to a place that is only “good?” Anyway, thanks for the review. I probably won’t be trying this place out any time soon. After the macaroni & cheese incident from last week, I have learned to just take your word for things.

  4. Thanks for your honest review. I have never tried this restaurant and I think I’m going to stick with Liberty Tree ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. You’re welcome, and thank you for reading! I haven’t been to LT in a few years and need to go back. While it’s always fun to try new things, it’s difficult for the majority of guests since they have to travel. I would want to stick with what I knew I enjoyed if I was still in that boat! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. When a restaurant has open tables, that does not mean they have enough servers to work all of them. They staff for anticipated guests as best they can. It is a misconception that empty tables equals a restaurant’s unwillingness to seat walk-up guests. If they did, then service to all tables would suffer.

  7. I fully understand they may not have the staff to service all the tables (on a holiday weekend – and I’ve worked in the food industry in the past), hence the open tables. Where it’s frustrating is when you’re told there are “just a couple” people ahead of you when requesting an earlier seating if possible. Then there is a rapid fire of literally 30+ tables being seated. They could have easily stated that they would not have been able to accommodate us until our reservation time, and we could have walked to the popcorn stand for a snack to hold us over. I’ve also visited restaurants on Disney property where they have packed it while seemingly understaffed, so I question their seating logic at times.

  8. I’ve not had the fried green beans at Y&Y. Sounds good, though. Regarding Nine Dragons, my last visit wasn’t the greatest thanks to chomping down on a big piece of plastic. While I’m trying new things for the sake of trying new things, it’s always disappointing to spend money at places that are subpar. If I’m spending around $15 on an entree, I would like for it to be a bit better than average! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I remember going here back in 2012. Even though I’d heard some not-so-great things about Tony’s, we went because my boyfriend was on a mission to try all the creme brulees throughout WDW lol. Can’t really remember much about the food but I certainly didn’t think it was as bad as everyone was making it out to be.

  10. Sounds like a mission Matt would enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe you and I have were lucky on our visits to the restaurant. But like you said, you don’t remember much, but it wasn’t so bad. Thanks for sharing!