New Soda Flavors from Epcot’s Club Cool

Club Cool at Epcot recently revamped its soda sample line-up, nixing Mozambique’s Krest Ginger Ale, Costa Rica’s Fanta Kolita, Germany’s Mezzo Mix, Israel’s Kinley, Mexico’s Lift Apple, and China’s Smart Watermelon. The remaining flavors include Matt’s favorite Beverly and one of my favorites, VegitaBeta (although the Disney Parks Blog claims it’s new…).

club-cool

We typically don’t visit Club Cool (we’ve maybe stopped in 2-3 times over the past 5 years), but the new line-up was enough to get us to brave the perpetually sticky floors to sample the flavors and get some photos! Seriously, those floors make it like pulling teeth to get Matt to go in! Click for larger photos of the new line-up.

club-cool-sodas-october-2013

club-cool-sodas-october-2013-1

club-cool-sodas-october-2013-2

Italy: Beverly, with its bitter flavor, is a popular non-alcoholic aperitif that is a traditional part of the Italian refreshment culture.

club-cool-italy-beverly

This is Matt’s favorite. Seriously. And I really don’t mind it either. I don’t mind the bitterness and both of us can easily drink a cup of this, and Matt will even go back for more.

club-cool-italy-beverly-soda

Greece: Fanta has more than 90 distinct flavors available in more than 180 countries. It made its European debut in the 1940s and was introduced to the USA in 1960. Fanta Pineapple is caffeine-free and features a sweet pineapple taste.

club-cool-greece-fanta-pineapple

I like pineapple and this flavor wasn’t too artificial tasting, but this soda was a bit too sweet for me. I was hoping to like it more.

club-cool-greece-fanta-pineapple-soda

Thailand: Melon Frosty – Fanta is the number on soft drink of Thailand. With a fun melon flavor, this carbonated beverage is beloved in Thailand’s sunny, tropical climate.

club-cool-thailand-fanta-melon-frosty

While I like melon, the flavor came off as being too artificial for me here.

club-cool-thailand-fanta-melon-frosty-soda

Japan: Originally launched in Japan in 1992, VegitaBeta is a non-carbonated beverage with apricot and passion fruit flavors and is rich in beta-carotene that contributed to its unique yellowish-orange color.

club-cool-japan-vegitabeta

This has always been on of my favorites from Club Cool, and it still is. The lack of carbonation allows the fruitiness to come through without being too sweet for me.

club-cool-japan-vegitabeta-soda

South Africa: Originally created in 1998, Bibo is a fruit flavored line of juice drinks popular in South Africa. The brand features fun characters such as Johnny Orange, Taka Strawberry and Paolo Peach.

club-cool-south-africa-bibo-dj-kiwi-mango

I just was not a fan and had to dump this one. It started out okay and then there was an unpleasant aftertaste.

club-cool-south-africa-bibo-dj-kiwi-mango-soda

Zimbabwe: A raspberry flavored cream soda, Sparberry launched in Africa in 1955. It is exclusively available in several countries in southeast Africa.

club-cool-zimbabwe-sparletta-sparberry

The cream soda aspect of this soda was so faint it was almost non-existent, but I did appreciate the raspberry flavor. I wouldn’t be opposed to another cup of this.

club-cool-zimbabwe-sparletta-sparberry-soda

Peru: Known as “The Taste of Peru,” this soda has an unusually sweet fruity flavor that many compare to the taste of liquid bubblegum. The name “Inca Kola” refers to the Quechua words for king and queen.

club-cool-peru-inca-kola

Yup, it does indeed have a bubblegum taste. I really didn’t mind it, but the small pour probably attributed to that. I’m not sure I could go for a an entire bottle.

club-cool-peru-inca-kola-soda

Brazil: Guaraná Kuat is a guarana berry flavored soft drink first launched in Brazil in 1997. The word guarana comes from the Guarani word guaran-ná, which translates to “fruit like the eyes of the people.”

club-cool-brazil-kuat-guarana

I liked the fruitiness of this soda, and while I could easily pass on most of the other new beverages in the future, I would certainly revisit this one should I brave Club Cool’s floors again. 😉

club-cool-brazil-kuat-guarana-soda

I’ll certainly miss some of the old flavors, like Germany’s Mezzo Mix, but I’m glad to see some change come to Club Cool after so many years. I think it’s good for them to shake up the options like this once in a while for the sake of trying new things.

Which flavors are you going to miss, and which ones do you want to try?

16 responses to “New Soda Flavors from Epcot’s Club Cool

  1. I’m bummed to lose Mezzo Mix and my beloved watermelon soda, but it’ll be fun to try new flavors. Although I do have to wonder: who thought liquid bubblegum was a good idea?! (I suspect those people who make fried bubblegum at fairs.)

  2. I’m depressed beyond comprehension over the tragic loss of Kinley. 😦

  3. Jenn – As odd as the bubblegum flavor was, and my anticipation of not being too fond of it, I was pleasantly surprised. But it’s not something I would necessarily seek out. 🙂

    Andrew – Another good one that has been lost. 😦

  4. Alan (NORMNB8S)

    I wouldn’t say that I’ll miss any of the old flavors. The watermelon soda was good, but like you, I haven’t been inside Club Cool in years so I can’t really say that I’ll miss the flavors. I’m glad Beverly stuck around. While I wouldn’t use the word “like” while describing it, I will say that I don’t have the shocked reaction to it that many others have. It definitely serves its purpose. As for the new flavors, I’m excited to try the pineapple Fanta as well as the melon fanta.

  5. I was really hoping that I would have liked both of the Fanta flavors more, especially the pineapple. I was surprised by some of the others, though. 🙂

  6. I *THOUGHT* that VegitaBeta wasn’t new! I went to Club Cool for the first time (yes, seriously) in January and they had a VegitaBeta dispenser and description of it … I have a photo to prove it! However, it was “out of service,” so it was the only one I didn’t get to try. I’m excited to finally try it and all the other new flavors. The only one I really liked from before was Mexico’s Manzana Lift, so hopefully I’ll find some new favorites!

  7. Yup, same as before! Just because the Disney Parks Blog says it doesn’t mean it’s true! 😉 You’ll have to give it a try when you’re here!!!

  8. Like Jenn, I’m disappointed to see Mezzo Mix go. Katherine, you’re right. VegitaBeta isn’t new so I’m not sure why they listed it that way on Disney Parks Blog.

    I can’t wait to try the new flavors but I don’t know why they added Fanta Pineeapple since you can get that in the U.S. It seems to me that they could have found something different that we can’t get here to try.

  9. Kristen – In regard to Fanta Pineapple, it doesn’t seem like it would be an “odd” or interesting flavor for those of us in the US to warrant making the list either. But then again, that’s just my thought. 😀

  10. I live in South Africa and have never seen Bibo here and no one I’ve asked has heard of it either. Wikipedia says it was only on the market for some years… they are probably palming off Disney with the leftovers 😉

    Sparberry however, is everywhere as well as well as Sparletta, the cream soda version. Bit of a strange choice. Even Fanta Grape would have been more logical.

  11. People say the same thing about Beverly in Italy! 🙂 I think we can get Fanta Grape in the US so that might be why they made a different choice.

  12. I too am sad about the loss of Kinley. Over Labor Day I grabbed a grey goose shot from France and walked it over to Club Cool to mix with Kinley. It was delicious. Glad I got to try that at least once. :-/

  13. That sounds delicious! But like you said, at least you got to try it. Maybe you’ll find a new mixer you’ll enjoy! 😀

  14. While I miss Mezzo Mix too, I’ve found that the Coke Freestyle machines (here in Tampa we have them at Burger King and Firehouse Subs) offer a very similar flavor with Coke Orange. Of the new flavors, I really enjoyed Fanta Pineapple and Inca Kola.

  15. We have them here in the Orlando area at BK and Firehouse too, I believe. I was thinking about that – perhaps just mixing Coke and Orange Soda to get the Mezzo Mix taste! 🙂

  16. We tried them all, and hated most of them. Danny too enjoys the Beverly, but I guess that’s to be expected from a guy who drinks Fernet-Branca like it’s going out of style. My favorite of the bunch was the Sparberry. Completely opposite end of the spectrum in terms of sweetness and flavor!